REPORT | UEFA Regions' Cup - Ireland 1-1 Zenica-Doboj

Galicia v Republic of Ireland Amateur Group A - UEFA Regions' Cup Final Tournament 202223 (14).jpg

REPORT | UEFA Regions' Cup - Ireland 1-1 Zenica-Doboj

14th Jun 2023

Ireland equalised late on through Jimmy Carr to draw their last UEFA Regions’ Cup fixture 1-1-1 with Bosnian opposition in Zenica-Doboj on Wednesday night in Galicia. 

A sole Hadis Krehmic shot gave the Bosnians the lead but Jimmy Carr headed home a fine Luke Casey cross to draw Ireland level.  

The Bosnians were reduced to ten men after Samir Talic lunged in high on Eoin Hayes on 21 minutes and received a second yellow card. 

Lee McColgan then nearly scored a screamer with a wicked left-footed shot that skimmed the upright.

Eoin Murphy was next to go close as he worked a short corner onto his left but his goal bound shot was blocked on 31 minutes. 

It was Deiric Hyland’s turn to go close when he turned in the box and fired straight at Bekan but the Bosnians took the lead against the run of play just before the break after Cunningham saved a shot which deflected to Hadis Krehmic and he duly lifted it into the Irish net. 

Lee McColgan mysteriously got sent off at the start of the second half when it looked like he was fouled but the referee sent him off instead of his Bosnian counterpart. 

Luke Casey then missed a golden chance to equalise when he saw his penalty saved in the 70th minute. 

Casey nearly equalised again after fine work in the 79th minute saw him skip inside the box but his effort went just over. 

However, it was Casey's brilliant ball in for Jimmy Carr who headed home the leveller in injury time to ensure Ireland didn't go home empty handed

Ireland: Gary Cunningham, Adam Crowley, Glen Daly, Danny Aherne, Lee McColgan, Adam Conway, Nathan Broderick (Conor Coughlan), Luke Casey, Eoin Murphy (Jordan Buckley), Eoin Hayes (Jimmy Carr), Deiric Hyland (Stephen Chambers) Subs: Mark Power, Dylan Connolly, Jack Parke

Zenica-Doboj: Amir Bekan, Marcelo Kurevija, Mirza Muharemovic, Hajrudin Camdzie, Samir Talic, Haris Dzafic, Hadis Krehmic, Samir Kondzic, Nedim Subasic, Belmin Hajdic, Ivan Martinovic Subs: Asim Bosnjak, Harun Sabié, Samir Skomorac, Stefan Ilié, Vedad Mudrov, Meris Selimovié, Osmo Nuhanovié