PREVIEW - UEFA Regions' Cup - Bavaria v Ireland

Galicia v Republic of Ireland Amateur Group A - UEFA Regions' Cup Final Tournament 202223 (4).jpg

PREVIEW - UEFA Regions' Cup - Bavaria v Ireland

11th Jun 2023

Ireland’s Amateur International Team take on Bavaria in a crucial UEFA Regions’ Cup Group A fixture this evening in Galicia. 

Having lost out 2-0 in the opening group game against hosts Galicia, Ireland head into Sunday evening’s game knowing they need to win to maintain hopes of qualifying for next week’s Final.

Goalkeeper and Captain Brendan O’Connell pulled up in the warm up in the opening game and has been replaced by Mark Power from College Corinthians FC. 

Malahide United FC defender Glen Daly misses out on Sunday through suspension following his red card against Galicia and will be available for the final Group A game. 

Manager Gerry Davis has told his players they can only concentrate on themselves and focus on securing the remaining six points in the tournament. 

Speaking to FAI Media after the Spanish fixture, he said: “Sport is a funny thing. We still have six points to play for. 

“The Spanish didn’t make many changes (against Ireland) and kept most of their bodies on the pitch meaning they’ll have to go again Sunday.

“It’s all to play for. We’ve said to our players that it’s all about recovery now and look at it if we can manage to six points and even then not get to the final then at least we’ll have done our job.” 

The game will be available to stream here

Fixture details

Germany (Bavaria) v Republic of Ireland – Sunday, 11 June, 2023 – 16:00 (Irish time) - Municipal de Burgáns

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Gary Cunningham (Westport United), Mark Power (College Corinthians FC)
Defenders: Glen Daly (Malahide United), Jack McMullan (Home Farm FC), Lee McColgan (Cockhill Celtic), Jack Parke (Bonagee United FC), Adam Crowley (Rockmount FC), Dylan Connolly (Lucan United FC)

Midfielders: Stephen Chambers (Killester Donnycarney FC), Nathan Broderick (Rockmount FC), Luke Casey (Rockmount FC), Eoin Murphy (Rockmount FC), Adam Conway (Villa FC), Conor Coughlan (Fairview Rangers FC), Danny Aherne (Rockmount AFC), Jimmy Carr (St Michaels AFC)

Forwards: Eoin Hayes (Newmarket FC), Jimmy McHugh (Oliver Bond Celtic FC), Jordan Buckley (Usher Celtic FC), Derek Hyland (Kilbarrack United FC)