Match report | UEFA Regions' Cup Bavaria Ireland

Bavaria v Republic of Ireland Amateur Group A - UEFA Regions' Cup Final Tournament 202223.jpg

Match report | UEFA Regions' Cup Bavaria Ireland

11th Jun 2023

Ireland’s UEFA Regions’ Cup hopes were ended on Sunday evening as they fell to a 2-0 defeat at the hands of Germany’s Bavaria Region. 

Goals from Julian Kania and Martin Mayer gave Bavaria the win which sees them face a showdown for the Final with Galicia in their final match. 

Ireland fell behind in the seventh minute with an unfortunate looping cross come shot from Martin Mayer and deflected in. 

Marcel Kosuch then went close on 14 minutes when he broke through but fired his shot wide. 

Ireland were nearly level after 25 minutes when Lee McColgan raised highest to an Irish free on the left but his header was saved by Ludwig Zech. 

Jimmy Carr was next up who saw a header saved by Zech in the 52nd minute as his diving header nearly found the German net. 

It was the German’s turn then to try add a second when Gary Cunningham pulled off a great save from close range after a string of yellow cards were given out by the Andorran referee in the previous period. 

Eoin Hayes hit the post moments after with a clever free kick from Eoin Murphy but his shot smashed off the woodwork. 

It was Bavaria who doubled their lead, however, on 70 minutes when Julian Kania found himself in the Irish box and slotted home. 

Ireland’s final Group A game will be against Bosnian’s Zenica-Doboj region on Wednesday at 18:00 (Irish time.)

Ireland: Gary Cunningham, Dylan Connolly, Jack Parke, Lee McColgan, Jack McMullan, Adam Conway, Jimmy Carr (Eoin Hayes 62’), Conor Coughlan (Luke Casey 80’), Stephen Chambers (Deiric Hyland 62’), Jordan Buckley (Nathan Broderick 80’), Jimmy McHugh (Eoin Murphy 45’) Subs: Mark Power, Danny Aherne

Bavaria: Ludwig Zech, Daniel Winkler, Mathias Bauer, Mario Gotzendorfer, Martin Mayer, Ishak Karaogul, Julian Kania, Julian Bell, Marcel Kosuch, Anthony Manuba, Valentin Sponer. Subs: Enrico Caruso, Rufus Roth, Niko Gkasimpagizov, Engiell Havolli, Daniel Leugner, Jannis Sauerm Daniel Zillner, Samir Naziri, Jonas Perconti