Match report | Galicia 2-0 Ireland

Galicia v Republic of Ireland Amateur Group A - UEFA Regions' Cup Final Tournament 202223.jpg

Match report | Galicia 2-0 Ireland

9th Jun 2023

Ireland lost 2-0 to hosts Galicia in their opening UEFA Regions’ Cup tie in Cambados despite a fighting performance with ten men for large periods.

Things started off on an unlucky note with Brendan O’Connell picking up a knock in the warm up bringing Gary Cunningham into the fold. 

The hosts were ahead of ten minutes after Inaki Martinez cut inside from the left wing and fired a fine shot in off the near post to give the Galicians the lead. 

Ireland were then reduced to ten men after 19 minutes when Glen Daly received his marching orders after the referee adjudged him to have taken down the last man. 

Galicia went close on 50 minutes after Felix Rial got on the end of a cut back but scooped his effort over the bar. 

Gary Cunningham then made a sensational save from close range when he tipped an Galician effort out for a corner. 

Ireland did well to restrict Galicia to half chances in the second half as they settled into shape and continued to frustrate the hosts. 

Forcing a number of set pieces in the final stages the ten men of Ireland nearly forced an equaliser when Jack McMullen fired just over from a bouncing ball in the box. 

Substitute Joni Magisano then grabbed a second for the Spanish side in the dying moments to put the game out of Irish reach. 

Next up for the Republic of Ireland is a clash against Bavaria on Sunday, 9 June in their second Group A clash. 

Galicia | Ramon Rodriguez Vazquez, Jesus Varela Sanchez (Antonio Gonzalez Vilar 75’), Sergio Cotilla Martinez, Alejandro Rey (Alex Ubeira 75’), Anton Iglesias, Felix Rial, Adrian Otero (Oscar Lorenzo 78’), Pablo Caraban, lago Martinez, Iñaki Martinez, Fabio Gonzalez (Joni Magisano 75’) Subs: Gabriel Martinez Loureiro, Martin Sanchez, Lucas Antañon, Juanin, Brais Vidal

Ireland | Gary Cunningham, Dylan Connolly, Lee McColgan, Glen Daly, Jack McMullen, Danny Aherne, Jimmy Carr (Luke Casey 62’), Stephen Chambers (Nathan Broderick 80’), Jordan Buckley (Deiric Hyland 80’), Eoin Murphy (Conor Coughlan 62’), Jimmy McHugh (Eoin Hayes 55’) Subs: Jack Parke, Adam Crowley, Adam Conway