Irish FFA squad to compete in Austria


Irish FFA squad to compete in Austria

Ireland’s first ever Football for All (FFA) club representative team are competing in their inaugural international tournament at the SK Rapid Vienna’s Champions Cup, in Austria.
25th May 2018

Beginning on Friday evening, the tournament also includes Southampton FC, Ajax, Club Brugges, Rapid Vienna, Torino, Bournemouth FC and Austria Vienna.

The FAI's Football For All programme, with the best of the FFA club players from Leinster and Munster have been competing in a series of competitive 90-minute games, over the past two years. Leinster won the first year’s series, with Munster winning this year.

From these two provincial squads, a Football for All panel of 12 players has been selected to represent Ireland at the international club tournament, being hosted by SK Rapid Vienna from May 25 to 27. 

Republic of Ireland squad: Matthew Collins (Midleton FC, Cork), Cian Cotter (Midleton FC, Cork), Michael O’Donovan (Carrigaline FC, Cork), Jack Hickey (Evergreen FC, Kilkenny), Dion Kennedy (Evergreen FC, Kilkenny), Keith Begley (Newcastle West, Limerick), Jack Curran (Lourdes Celtic, Dublin), Sean O’Dalaigh (Lourdes Celtic, Dublin), Mark Hennigan (Malahide United, Dublin), Cian Fitzpatrick (Lourdes Celtic, Dublin), Daniel Walsh (Lourdes Celtic, Dublin), Thomas Caulfield (Lourdes Celtic, Dublin).

Coaches: Dave Bell, Ken O’Connell and Kyle Mates