Soccer Writers Ireland pay tribute to WNT


Soccer Writers Ireland pay tribute to WNT

The Republic of Ireland Women's National Team were honoured at the 2022 SSE Airtricity Soccer Writers Ireland Personality of the Year Awards.
15th Jan 2023

A significant event on the Irish football calendar, the annual banquet returned in-person after three years offline due to the outbreak of COVID-19 and it was a special evening.

Shamrock Rovers manager Stephen Bradley and Shelbourne captain Pearl Slattery picked up the Men's Personality of the Year and the Women's Personality of the Year Awards respectively.

The Goalkeeper of the Year Award went to Shamrock Rovers's Alan Mannus, while Lynn O'Neill was reognised for her 40-year service to Bohemians with the Liam Tuohy Special Merit Award.

The final award of the evening, the International Recognition Award, was given to the players & staff of the WNT for their successful year in 2022 which was highlighted with their qualification to FIFA Women's World Cup 2023.

WNT Manager Vera Pauw and centurion Áine O'Gorman collected the award, while members of the backroom staff were also in attendance at the Clayton Hotel. They were given a standing ovation from those present at the function.