REPORT | Ireland MU19 1-4 Portugal MU19

WhatsApp Image 2022-03-26 at 10.23.08 PM.jpeg

REPORT | Ireland MU19 1-4 Portugal MU19

The Republic of Ireland Men's Under-19s have been eliminated from the UEFA Under-19 European Championship Elite Phase after a 4-1 defeat to Portugal in St. George's Park, England.
26th Mar 2022

The result doesn't paint the full picture, with Ireland leading Portugal until the 78th minute thanks to Johnny Kenny's first-half strike. But their hardwork was undone by four goals in the second half, including a brace from second-half substitute Youssef Chermiti, undid the Irish side's good work.

Cian Hayes caused a lot of problems for the Portuguese side down the right side, as Ireland got off to a positive start in the game. Mohan's team was pressing hard and forcing Portugal to play far deeper in their own half.

After some good initial movement down the left, Andy Moran had a shot that rebounded off the crossbar and was cleared off the line, only for the ball to fall to Jonny Kenny, who headed the ball home and give Ireland the lead.

Dan Rose was forced to make a fine save from Joo Neves, who had the first glimpse on goal for the Portuguese. For both sides, Vasco Sousa and Evan Caffrey had chances, but neither could find the target. Miguel Falé had a shot just before halftime, but his attempt was stopped by Rose.

In the second half, Portugal continued to press for an equaliser, with António Silva and Joelson both edging closer. Chermiti would score Portugal's equaliser, breaking the Irish resistance and bringing the match level.

Silva would score a second Portuguese goal in the dying minutes of the game before Joelson and Chermiti added two further goals in time added. Rose was unfortunate not to stop the Portuguese frontmen from scoring, leading in a result that did not represent Ireland's performance.

Portugal: Andre Gomes (GK), João Tomé, Chico Lamba, António Silva, Flávio Nazinho (Diogo Travassos 46), Martim Neto (Youssef Chermiti 46), Nuno Félix, João Neves (Pedro Santos 71), Miguel Falé, Diego Moreira (Joelson 59), Vasco Sousa (Matchói Djaló 65).

Republic of Ireland: Daniel Rose (GK), James Abankwah, Mohammed Olabosun Lawal, Sean Roughan, Evan Caffrey, Edward McJannet, Jack Henry-Francis, Alex Murphy, Cian Hayes (Glory Nzingo 82), Johnny Kenny, Andrew Moran. 

Referee: Igor Pajac (Croatia)