MU19 | Review of 2021

MU19 | Review of 2021

Tom Mohan’s Men’s Under-19s ended their year with qualification to the Elite Round of the UEFA Under-19 European Championships.
24th Dec 2021

Mohan had to wait almost two years to get back out on the touchline due to the Covid-19 pandemic but the MU19s would go unbeaten in their five games in 2021.

Despite their first game of the year coming in October, Mohan and his staff had held camps from as early as May in both Ireland and the UK.

The first test of 2021 was no mean feat as they came up against Sweden in the first of a double header against the Scandinavians in Marbella. Goals from Evan Caffrey and Zack Gilsenan gave Ireland a two-goal lead before Sweden fought back to make it 2-2.

This was followed up a few days later and again both nations couldn’t get the better of each other as it ended 1-1 – Aidomo Emakhu scored Ireland’s goal on his international debut.

A month later they were in competitive action with three games in a week in Bulgaria as part of the first round of qualifiers for the European Championships.

A brace from Sinclair Armstrong and a first international goal for Johnny Kenny gave Ireland a 3-2 win over Montenegro. Next was a 1-1 draw against Bosnia & Herzegovina with Kenny again on target. The Sligo Rovers man made it three goals in three games when he scored from the spot in a 2-0 win against host Bulgaria – Sean Roughan netted the other.


08.10.21 | Ireland 2-2 Sweden
11.10.21 | Ireland 1-1 Sweden
10.11.21 Ireland 3-2 Montenegro
13.11.21 |  Ireland 1-1 Bosnia & Herzegovina
16.11.21 |  Bulgaria 0-2 Ireland


3 – Johnny Kenny
2- Sinclair Armstrong
1 – Evan Caffrey, Aidomo Emakhu, Zak Gilsenan, Sean Roughan


5 – James Abankwah, Ed McJannett, Anselmo Garcia MacNulty
4 – Tayo Adaramola,Kian Corbally,, Aidomo Emakhu,  Bosuna Lawal
3- Val Adedokun, Sinclair Armstrong Evan Caffrey, Arlo Doherty, Johny Kenny, Jack Henry-Francis, Andrew Moran, Kevin Zefi
2-  Sam Curtis, Cristiano Fitzgerald, Oisin Gallagher,  Cian Hayes,  Jevon Mills David Okagbue, Dan Rose, Josh Seary, John Joe Patrick Finn Benoa, Luke Pearce, Jamie Mullins, Ben McCormack , Harry Vaughan
1 – Zak Gilsenan, Sean Roughan