REPORT | WU16 5-0 Faroe Islands


REPORT | WU16 5-0 Faroe Islands

Braces from Ella Kelly and Leah McGrath helped Ireland Women's Under-16s to a 5-0 victory over Faroe Islands at Weavers Park, Drogheda.
22nd Aug 2023

In the first of two International Friendly games between the sides, it was the home team who took advantage early on with DLR Waves midfielder Kelly netting after just seven minutes.

Cutting in from the right side, Kelly latched onto a through pass from club-mate Anna Butler to take a touch and then finish superbly with her left foot to make it 1-0.

Kelly was celebrating again on 20 minutes when she got in front of her marker at the back post to divert a cross from the left wing into the back of the Faroes net.

Ireland got their third goal on 75 minutes when Leah McGrath confidently slotted a penalty kick straight down the middle after Ava Mullins was fouled inside the area.

Aisling Meehan scored an excellent goal on 84 minutes when she reacted quickly to a poor clearance by the visitors and rifled a right-footed effort in from distance.

The scoring was wrapped up by McGrath when she got her second just a minute later when the Wexford Youths forward spun off her marker inside the area and unleashed a shot that went in off the post.

The teams will meet again on Thursday in Home Farm FC and Head Coach Megan Smyth-Lynch will be asking for more of the same from her players, in terms of performance and result.

Ireland: Laura Fanning; Kate Jones (Katie Ray 65), Abigail Bradshaw (Michaela Hand 55), Chloe Wallace (Kaitlyn Delahunty 15), Aiblinn Cotter (Kya McKenna 65); Lauren Bowe (Heather Loomes 55), Finley Newell (Ava Mullins 55); Ella Kelly (Madison McGuane 70), Beatrice Silickaite (Sarah McCaffrey 65), Mary Hartofilis (Aisling Meehan 70); Anna Butler (Leah McGrath 70).

Faroe Islands: Rannva vio Streym; Ronja Ragnarsdottir Trier, Halla Morgan Ejdesgaard, Leona Kjaerbaek Djurhuus, Silja Ragnarsdottir Trier, Elisbet Norooy Vihelmsen, Sara Kristiansen, Tora Vatnhamar Olsen, Valbjorg Davidsen, Ranja Joensen, Hansina Nesa.

Referee: Sarah Dyas.