WNT squad trimmed down for Germany


WNT squad trimmed down for Germany

Vera Pauw has confirmed the final Republic of Ireland Women's National Team squad for their UEFA Women's EURO 2022 qualifier away to Germany on September 19th.
8th Sep 2020

The squad has been trimmed down to 23 players who will meet up in Germany on Monday, September 14th for a week-long training camp ahead of the game in Essen.

A number of players remain on standby, but the final list includes the uncapped duo of Alli Murphy and Ellen Molloy, while Leanne Kiernan, Megan Connolly and Heather Payne return having missed the wins over Greece and Montenegro in March.

Ireland are currently top of the Group I following an unbeaten start and after the Germany game they will have two more group fixtures to complete with Ukraine away on October 23 and Germany at home on December 1.

The nine group winners and the three best runners-up (not counting results against the sixth-placed team) qualify directly for the final tournament, while the remaining six runners-up advance to the play-offs.

Republic of Ireland WNT Squad
Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Niamh Reid Burke (Peamount United)
Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O'Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Aine O'Gorman (Peamount United)
Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O'Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Alli Murphy (London City Lionesses), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Hayley Nolan (London City Lionesses), Ruesha Littlejohn (Leicester City), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths)
Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kyra Carusa (HB Hoge)

Germany v Republic of Ireland
UEFA 2021 Women’s European Championship Qualifying – Group I
Saturday, September 19
Stadion Essen
KO 13:00 (Irish Time)