WNT squad named for Spain friendly

WNT Huddle.jpg

WNT squad named for Spain friendly

The Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team will play Spain in a friendly match on Wednesday, April 8, in the Mareo Stadium, Asturias, which is located 40kms from Gijon.
30th Mar 2015

Spain, who are ranked 14th in the FIFA World Rankings and eighth in Europe, are currently preparing for the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada where they have been drawn in the same group as Brazil, South Korea and Costa Rica, whom Ireland played at the Istria Cup in Croatia, on March 11.

Ireland Women’s National Team Manager Sue Ronan said: “We are delighted to have received an invitation to play Spain who are currently preparing for the World Cup Finals. This will be a good test for us, coming on the back of our four games at the Istria Cup, and will be a key part of our preparations leading into the start of the European Championship qualifiers in September.”

While the two countries have met regularly at underage level, including the 2010 UEFA European U17 Championship Final which Spain won on penalties, this is the first meeting of the sides at senior international level since 1992. Then the sides met in a European Championship qualifier in Dublin with Spain winning 1-0 to avenge a 1-0 defeat in Lucena the previous year.

Ronan has named an 18-strong squad for the trip and Raheny United winger Siobhan Killeen returns after missing the Istria Cup because of college commitments.  Teenagers Megan Connolly, Lauren Dwyer and Sarah Rowe, who were part of Istria Cup squad are not included as is Stephanie Roche who has not been asked to travel from her new base in America because Houston Dash play their first league game of the 2015 season the day after the Spain game.

“I spoke to Stephanie and we felt it would be better for her if she stayed in Houston and focused on trying to make the team for the first league game. It’s a big step for her and she needs to focus on establishing herself at Houston. We are playing the USA on May 10 in San Jose so she should be back with us for that.”

Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team Squad

Goalkeepers: Emma Byrne (Arsenal), Niamh Reid-Burke (Raheny United).

Defenders: Megan Campbell (Florida State University), Meabh De Burca (Galway WFC), Niamh Fahey (Chelsea), Aine O'Gorman (UCD Waves), Sophie Perry (Brighton & Hove Albion), Louise Quinn (Eskilstuna United).

Midfielders: Emma Beckett (Amazon Grimstad), Diane Caldwell (Avaldsnes), Ciara Grant (UCD Waves), Siobhan Killeen (Raheny United), Denise O'Sullivan (Glasgow City), Julie Ann Russell (UCD Waves).

Forwards: Carol Breen (Wexford Youths Women’s AFC), Ruesha Littlejohn (Celtic), Katie McCabe (Raheny United), Fiona O'Sullivan (Notts County).