WNT squad confirmed for Ukraine game

WNT Line-Up.jpg

WNT squad confirmed for Ukraine game

The path towards qualifying for the 2022 UEFA Women's European Championships continues for the Republic of Ireland as they prepare to travel to Ukraine on October 23rd.
6th Oct 2020

Manager Vera Pauw has confirmed a 30-player squad for what is their penultimate game in Group I - with a home game against Germany to come on December 1st - and knowing that victory would secure a Play-Off spot.

Group leaders Germany have already made sure of a place at EURO 2022, but second place - which is currently occupied by Ireland - remains up for grabs. A best runners-up spot, that guarantees automatic qualification, is also in contention.

As per UEFA rules, the nine group winners and the three best runners-up (not counting results against the sixth-placed team) qualify directly for the final tournament, while the remaining six runners-up advance to the two-legged Play-Offs that will be played in April 2021.

Ireland overcame Ukraine 3-2 in Tallaght Stadium on October 8th, 2019 (which was Pauw's first game in charge) and will be hoping to complete the double over the team who currently trail them by seven points.

There are no new additions to the squad that was announced for last month's loss away to Germany with nine Women's National League players receiving call-ups.

Republic of Ireland WNT Squad
Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid-Burke (Peamount United)
Defenders: Harriet Scott (Reading), Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O'Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Aine O'Gorman (Peamount United)
Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O'Sullivan (Brighton & Hove Albion - on loan from NC Courage), Alli Murphy (London City Lionesses), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Hayley Nolan (London City Lionesses), Ruesha Littlejohn (Leicester City), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Stephanie Roche (Peamount United), Julie-Ann Russell (Sydney University)
Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kyra Carusa (HB Hoge)

Ukraine v Republic of Ireland
UEFA 2022 Women’s European Championship Qualifying – Group I
Friday, October 23
Obolon Arena, Kiev
KO 16:30 (Irish Time)