U19: 22-man squad names for Wales friendlies

Tom Mohan NB.jpg

U19: 22-man squad names for Wales friendlies

Ireland U19 will play games in Longford and Galway
3rd Sep 2018

Republic of Ireland Under-19 Head Coach Tom Mohan has named a 22-man squad for the upcoming friendlies against Wales.

Five of the players that starred for the Ireland Under-17s in the recent UEFA European Under-17 Championships in England are named in the squad, while Mohan also welcomes back a further seven players that reached the Elite Round of the UEFA European Under-19 Championship Qualifiers in Portugal earlier this year.

Speaking at the squad announcement, Mohan was delighted to welcome the new players to the squad, and said Ireland's underage teams are thriving on the international stage.

"The Under-17 team were knocked out by European champions the Netherlands in England, while our Under-19s were knocked out in the Elite Round by eventual champions Portugal. Our players are competing at the high end of European football. It's an exciting group to work with."

With the 2019 UEFA European Under-19 Championship Qualifying Round to come in October, Mohan wants to have a look at some players before that squad is named.

"You want to win matches, but if you get good performances there is a good chance you will get the right results."

Ireland's first game takes place in Longford on September 9th, with the second match taking place in Galway two days later.

Republic of Ireland Under-19 Squad
Goalkeepers: Brian Maher (St. Patrick's Athletic), George McMahon (Burnley) 
Defenders: Nathan Collins (Stoke City), Tom Gaston (Girondins de Bordeaux), Jack James (Luton Town), Andy Lyons (Bohemians), Oisin McEntee (Newcastle United), Lee O'Connor (Manchester United), 
Midfielders: Aaron Bolger (Shamrock Rovers), Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Jordan Doherty (Sheffield United), Will Ferry (Southampton), Ryan Johansson (Bayern Munich), Jason Knight (Derby County)
Forwards: Jonathon Afolabi (Southampton), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Brandon Kavanagh (Shamrock Rovers),Glen McAuley (Liverpool), Michael Obafemi (Southampton), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Will Smallbone (Southampton)

9/9/18 - Republic of Ireland v Wales, City Calling Stadium, Longford, 3pm
11/9/18 - Republic of Ireland v Wales, Eamonn Deacy Park, Galway, 12pm