Squad trimmed ahead of 2018 FIFA World Cup Play-Off

Martin O'Neill

Squad trimmed ahead of 2018 FIFA World Cup Play-Off

Republic of Ireland set for two games against Denmark
6th Nov 2017

Martin O'Neill has trimmed down his Republic of Ireland Men's National Team squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying Play-Off with Denmark.

Ireland will be away first on Saturday, November 11 when they meet Denmark in the Parken Stadium, Copenhagen, before returning to Dublin for the second leg in Aviva Stadium on Tuesday, November 14.

Injuries have ruled out defender Richard Keogh (Groin), midfielder James McCarthy (Hamstring) and forward Sean Maguire (Hamstring). David Meyler is suspended for the first leg game in Copenhagen.

The Ireland squad began their preparations for the Play-Off at the FAI National Training Centre on Monday, November 6 and will complete three more sessions there before departing for Copenhagen on Thursday, November 8.

Republic of Ireland MNT Squad
Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Colin Doyle (Bradford City)
Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Middlesbrough), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Paul McShane (Reading), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley)
Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady (Burnley), Glenn Whelan, Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), David Meyler (Hull City), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O'Kane (Leeds United), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)
Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Nottingham Forest), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Aiden O'Brien (Millwall)