Squad confirmed for Georgia & Serbia games


Squad confirmed for Georgia & Serbia games

O'Neill selects a 25-man panel for two crucial qualifiers.
28th Aug 2017

Martin O'Neill has trimmed down his Republic of Ireland squad ahead of the 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying Round games against Georgia (September 2) and Serbia (September 5).

Injuries have ruled out James McCarthy (hamstring) and Jeff Hendrick (quad), while Eunan O'Kane reported into camp but has since returned to his club due to an ongoing groin complaint.

Keiren Westwood (knee), David Meyler (knee) and Jonathan Walters (ankle) did not take a full part in training, as a precautionary measure, on Monday, August 28 but are due to train on Tuesday.

Aiden McGeady and David McGoldrick are both due to report into camp on Tuesday after being afforded extra time due to personal reasons.

The squad will have three more sessions there before departing for Tbilisi on Thursday for the game against Georgia.

Republic of Ireland Squad
Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday)
Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Middlesbrough), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley)
Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Glenn Whelan, Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), David Meyler (Hull City), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), Jonathan Hayes (Celtic), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City)
Forwards: Jonathan Walters (Burnley), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Nottingham Forest), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town)