Ronan names squad for Cyprus Cup

Ronan names squad for Cyprus Cup

Republic of Ireland Women's Senior Team manager Sue Ronan has named a squad of 22 players for next month's Cyprus Cup.
22nd Feb 2013

Republic of Ireland Women's Senior Team manager Sue Ronan has named a squad of 22 players for next month's Cyprus Cup.

Ireland will face Northern Ireland, South Africa and South Korea in Group C of the 12 team international tournament which will also feature England, Netherlands and FIFA Women's World Cup 2015 hosts Canada.

The tournament will play a key role in Ronan's preparations for the FIFA Women's World Cup qualifiers which will kick-off in September following the draw in April.

She has named a squad which is a blend of youth and experience ranging from 93 times capped goalkeeper Emma Byrne to uncapped U19 international Emma Hansberry.

Hansberry is one of 13 players from clubs in the Bus Eireann Women's National League while the rest of the squad are playing in England, Scotland, Norway, Sweden, Germany and America.

The squad shows four changes from the 18 strong group which faced Olympic Champions USA in two matches before Christmas as Mary Therese McDonnell, Shannon McDonnell Sophie Perry and Niamh Fahey were unavailable due to work commitments. In addition record cap holder Ciara Grant announced her retirement from international football this week.

Joining those who were involved in the games in Oregon and Arizona are the uncapped Hansberry, Karen Duggan, Jessica Gleeson and Seana Cooke while there are recalls for Grace Murray, Noelle Murray, Sara Lawlor and Stephanie Roche.

Ronan said: "We have previously gone to the Algarve Cup so this is a new departure for us and we are really looking forward to it especially as we are facing the likes of South Korean and South Africa which would be new opposition for us. The time we spend together in Cyprus is going to be important for us as we prepare for the start of the World Cup qualifiers."

The Squad is:

Emma Byrne (Arsenal FC)
Eve Badana (Drexel College)
Yvonne Tracy (Arsenal FC)
Megan Campbell (Raheny United)
Grace Murray (Peamount United)
Louise Quinn (Eskilstuna United)
Jessica Gleeson (Wexford Youths)
Seana Cooke (Raheny United)
Meabh de Burca (Amazon Grimstad FK)
Diane Caldwell (Alvadsnes)
Ciara Grant (Raheny United)
Karen Duggan (Peamount United)
Emma Hansberry (Castlebar Celtic)
Julie Ann Russell (Peamount United)
Aine O'Gorman (Peamount United)
Shannon Smyth (Amazon Grimstad FK)
Fiona O'Sullivan (SC Freiburg)
Ruesha Littlejohn (Glasgow City)
Noelle Murray (Raheny United)
Sara Lawlor (Peamount United)
Stephanie Roche (Peamount United)
Denise O'Sullivan (Cork Women's FC)