Ronan makes two changes to Women’s U19 squad for UEFA qualifiers

Ronan makes two changes to Women’s U19 squad for UEFA qualifiers

The Republic of Ireland Women’s U19 team touched down in Germany on Tuesday night ahead of the UEFA Championship, elite qualifying phase which takes place from the 23rd – 28th April. Irish manager, Susan Ronan has called Salthill Devon striker, Lucy Hannon and Stella Maris goalkeeper, Aisling Dyer into the squad.
21st Apr 2009

Galway based, Hannon has been a permanent feature in the Republic of Ireland U17 side and was a driving force behind Salthill Devon’s FAI Umbro Women’s U16 Cup victory in 2007. The striker who was also included in the Galway Ladies squad that represented Ireland in last season’s UEFA Cup is called up to replace the unavailable Shelby Murphy.

Stella Maris shot-stopper, Aisling Dyer is no stranger to the international stage as she has represented Ireland at a number of levels including the Irish Schools U15 side and most recently the Republic of Ireland women’s U17 team who qualified for the UEFA elite qualifying phase in last year’s competition.

Ireland get their qualification bid underway on Thursday evening an encounter against Slovakia (13.30 hrs). That will be the first of three UEFA elite qualifiers for the squad, with Russia in opposition on Saturday (14.45 hrs) followed by a concluding game against hosts Germany on Tuesday week (11.00 hrs). Only the top team in the four-nation group will proceed to the finals, to be held in Belarus this summer.

UEFA Championship – Elite Qualifying Phase fixtures
Thursday, April 23rd
Republic of Ireland v Slovakia
Heilbronn Stadium
Kick-off: 1.30pm (local time)

Saturday, April 25th
Russia v Republic of Ireland
Walldorf Stadium
Kick-off: 2.45pm (local time)

Tuesday, April 28th
Germany v Republic of Ireland
Kick-off: 11.00am (local time)

Republic of Ireland squad
Aisling Dyer – Stella Maris
Susan Hackett - Stella Maris
Louise Quinn - Peamount FC
Megan Campbell - St. Francis
Anna McCormack - Salthill Devon
Niamh Nolan - St. Francis
Rebecca Walsh - Salthill Devon
Niamh Mulcahy - Aisling Annacotty
Karen Duggan - Piltown FC
Amanda Parkes - Wilton Utd.
Ciara Grant - Lagan Harps
Ciara O’Brien - Tramore AFC
Amy Ryan - Stella Maris
Zoe Doherty - Cardonagh
Gillian McDonnell - Dundalk City WFC
Lillie Billson - Arsenal FC
Sinead Crotty - Connecticut Utd. FC
Lucy Hannon – Salthill Devon