Ronan issues rallying call for Israel Euro qualifier

Ronan issues rallying call for Israel Euro qualifier

Republic of Ireland Women's senior team Head Coach Sue Ronan wants Tallaght Stadium to be rocking on Saturday just like it was for Peamount's UEFA Champions League debut last month.
21st Oct 2011

Ronan's Ireland side will go in search of their second victory from three UEFA Championship qualifiers on Saturday afternoon (3pm) when Israel visit the home of Shamrock Rovers.

It's the first time for the venue to host a women's senior international and Ronan believes the arena provides an ideal setting for her team to flourish.

"Over 2,000 fans turned out for Peamount's UEFA Champions League tie against Paris Saint Germain last month and we would love for that type of crowd to support us on Saturday," she said.

"This is a vital match for us in our bid to qualify for the 2013 European Championships. Israel have shipped a lot of goals in their first two qualifiers but we'll respect them.

"Our aim will be to start the game with a high-tempo and try to create some early chances.

"Israel can be dogged in defence but it's up to us to break them down."

She added: "We have no injury worries and I have some selection headaches when it comes to picking the team. That can only be a good thing as squad depth is important at this level of international football."

Tickets for the game at Tallaght Stadium are priced at €5 for adults and €2 for children which is payable at the turnstiles.

Republic of Ireland squad:

Emma Byrne - Arsenal FC

Niamh Reid-Burke - Raheny United FC

Yvonne Tracy - Arsenal FC

Diane Caldwell - Thor/KA FC

Megan Campbell - Raheny United FC

Louise Quinn - Peamount United FC

Becky Walsh – Raheny United

Grace Murray - Peamount United FC

Marie Curtin - Kilmallock FC

Niamh Fahey - Arsenal FC

Ciara Grant - Arsenal FC

Dora Gorman - Raheny United FC/UCD

Julie-Ann Russell - Peamount United FC

Meabh de Burca - Boston Aztec FC

Fiona O'Sullivan - Pitea IF

Michele O'Brien - Chicago Red Eleven FC

Aine O'Gorman - Peamount United FC

Denise O'Sullivan - Wilton United FC

Stephanie Roche - Peamount United FC

Emma Mullin - Castlebar Celtic FC

Manager: Sue Ronan