REPORT: Ireland 2-0 Gibraltar


REPORT: Ireland 2-0 Gibraltar

Republic of Ireland remain unbeaten in the UEFA EURO 2020 European Qualifiers, after a 2-0 win over Gibraltar in Aviva Stadium.
10th Jun 2019

Manager Mick McCarthy made two changes to the side that drew 1-1 with Denmark. Scott Hogan made his first competitive start, in place of Glenn Whelan, while Callum Robinson replaced Robbie Brady.

David McGoldrick thought he scored his first goal for Ireland in the first-half, when his shot deflected past Kyle Goldwin, but the goal was given as a Joseph Chipolina own goal.

Ireland struggled to score past a resolute Gibraltar defence, but were able to get a deserved second goal in added time when substitute Robbie Brady scored from close range.

Mick McCarthy’s side go into the summer break five points clear at the top of Group D, ahead of the crucial Autumn matches.

Republic of Ireland: Darren Randolph; Seamus Coleman (capt), Shane Duffy, Richard Keogh, Enda Stevens; Callum Robinson (Robbie Brady 73), Jeff Hendrick, Conor Hourihane, James McClean; David McGoldrick, Scott Hogan (Sean Maguire 66)

Gibraltar: Kyle Godwin, John Sergeant, Joseph Chipolina, Roy Chipolina (capt), Louie Annesley, Jayce Olivero; Tjay De Barr, Andrew Hernandez (Ethan Jolley 76), Alain Pons (Ethan Britto 64); Liam Walker, Lee Casciaro (Anthony Bardon 10)

Referee: Radu Petrescu (ROU)