REPORT: Denmark 0-0 Ireland


REPORT: Denmark 0-0 Ireland

The Republic of Ireland finished their UEFA Nations League campaign with a positive result as they held Denmark to a 0-0 draw at Ceres Park in Aarhus on Monday evening.
19th Nov 2018

The Danes went close to scoring in the sixth minute but after Christian Eriksen’s long-range shot deflected into his path, Peter Ankersen drilled his effort just past the top left corner.

Ireland’s first genuine goal scoring chance came just past the half an hour mark but Robbie Brady curled his free-kick into the side net.

The home side again went close to breaking the deadlock moments before the half time break.

But following good build-up play involving Christian Eriksen and Yussuf Poulsen, right back Peter Ankersen saw his cross palmed clear by Darren Randolph with Seamus Coleman doing well to block Nicolai Jorgensen’s rebound.

They somehow failed to take the lead shortly after the restart when Martin Braithwaite cleverly turned Jonas Knudsen’s header at the back post towards Yussuf Poulsen but the RB Leipzig attacker inexplicably blasted the ball over from a few yards.

It just wasn’t to be their night in front of goal as the Group winners squandered another glorious chance to edge in front with 22 minutes remaining.

A mistake from Richard Keogh allowed Nicolai Jorgensen to break clear on goal but the Feyenoord frontman was unfortunate to see his effort crash against the inside of the left post before substitute Lukas Lerager fired the rebound over.

Martin O’Neill handed Michael Obafemi his senior debut in the 80th minute as the Irish eventually hung on to end 2018 with a hard-fought draw on the road.

DENMARK: Frederik Ronnow; Peter Ankersen, Mathias Jorgensen, Andreas Bjelland, Jonas Knudsen; Lasse Schone, Pierre Emile Hojbjerg, Christian Eriksen (Lukas Lerager 45); Yussuf Poulsen (Christian Gytkjaer 65), Nicolai Jorgensen, Martin Braithwaite (Andreas Cornelius 78).

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Darren Randolph; Richard Keogh, Shane Duffy, Kevin Long; Seamus Coleman, Cyrus Christie, Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady (Callum Robinson 65), Enda Stevens; Callum O’Dowda (Michael Obafemi 80), Aiden O’Brien (Ronan Curtis 65).

Referee: Aliyar Aghayev (Azerbaijan).