Provisional WNT squad named for double header


Provisional WNT squad named for double header

Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team Manager Vera Pauw unveiled a provisional squad for two crucial UEFA Women’s EURO 2021 qualifiers.
19th Feb 2020

Ireland will welcome Greece in Tallaght Stadium on Thursday, March 5 before travelling to Montenegro to take on the hosts on Wednesday, March 11.

Over 3,500 tickets have already gone for the Greece game, where Pauw will be hoping for the same energetic home support that the team benefitted from last year in the wins over Montenegro and Ukraine.

Peamount United’s Aine O’Gorman has come out of international retirement to link up with Pauw for the first time and will look to add to her 100 caps.

Also returning to the squad are Courtney Brosnan, Harriet Scott, Megan Connolly, Niamh Farrelly, Ruesha Littlejohn and Heather Payne, who all missed last November’s draw away to Greece.

Defenders Keeva Keenan and Megan Campbell are both ruled out due to injury, while Eabha O’Mahony and Emily Whelan will be part of Dave Connell’s Women’s Under-19 squad for three UEFA Elite Phase qualifiers in Czech Republic.

Trailing behind Group I leaders Germany, Pauw’s team are unbeaten after three games played and will be keen to pick up more points as the race for qualification for next year’s finals tournament in England heats up.

The squad, which will be trimmed down, will meet up on the weekend starting Friday, February 28 to kick off preparations for the two games.

Republic of Ireland WNT Squad
Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Grace Moloney (Reading), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Niamh Reid Burke (Peamount United)
Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Aine O'Gorman (Peamount United), Louise Quinn (Arsenal), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O'Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Chloe Mustaki (Charlton Athletic)
Midfielders: Julie-Ann Russell (Sydney University), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Denise O'Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Hayley Nolan (University of Hartford), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Ruesha Littlejohn (West Ham United)
Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Clare Shine (Glasgow City), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Match Details
Republic of Ireland v Greece
UEFA 2021 Women’s European Championship Qualifying – Group I
Thursday, March 5
Tallaght Stadium
KO 19:15

Montenegro v Republic of Ireland
UEFA 2021 Women’s European Championship Qualifying – Group I
Wednesday, March 11
Pod Malim Brdom, Budva