Preview | WNT v Germany

Preview | WNT v Germany

A victory would see the Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team secure a Qualifying Play-Off spot for the 2022 UEFA Women’s European Championships.
30th Nov 2020

Vera Pauw’s team are second in Group I behind Germany and know that they must finish in that position in order to take another step closer to the finals tournament in England.
In terms of qualifying, the nine group winners and the three best runners-up (not counting results against the sixth-placed team) qualify directly for the final tournament, while the remaining six runners-up advance to the Play-Offs.
Germany have already been confirmed as Group I winners, which means that the runner-up spot and a Qualifying Play-Off is now between second-placed Ireland (13 points) and third-placed Ukraine (12 points).
At the same time that Ireland host Germany the other group game will see Ukraine play Montenegro. Pauw's team currently hold a better goal difference so they need to equal or better Ukraine's result in order to seal second spot.
Defender Megan Campbell and forward Leanne Kiernan are ruled out, while Hayley Nolan, Alli Murphy, Megan Connolly and Kyra Carusa were unavailable to meet up with the squad.
All of the players & staff tested negative for COVID-19. They each underwent testing before coming into camp, then in the team base on Monday, November 23rd, and again on Sunday, November 29th.
Republic of Ireland
Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid-Burke (Peamount United)
Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O'Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Eabha O'Mahony (Cork City), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Aine O'Gorman (Peamount United)
Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O'Sullivan (Brighton & Hove Albion - on loan from NC Courage), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Ruesha Littlejohn (Leicester City), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Emily Whelan (Shelbourne)
Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion) 
Goalkeepers: Laura Benkarth (Bayern Munich), Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea), Merle Frohms (Eintracht Frankfurt)
Defenders: Marina Hegering (Bayern Munich), Kathrin Hendrich (Wolfsburg), Sophia Kleinherne (Eintracht Frankfurt), Paulina Krumbiegel (Hoffenheim), Leonie Maier (Arsenal), Lena Sophie Oberdorf (Wolfsburg), Felicitas Rauch (Wolfsburg), Pia-Sophie Wolter (Wolfsburg)
Midfielders: Klara Buhl (Bayern Munich), Sara Dabritz (Paris Saint-Germain), Linda Dallmann (Bayern Munich), Laura Freigang (Eintracht Frankfurt), Svenja Huth (Wolfsburg), Turid Knaak (Atletico Madrid), Lena Lattwein (Hoffenheim), Melanie Leupolz (Chelsea), Sydney Lohmann (Bayern Munich), Lina Magull (Bayern Munich), Dzsenifer Marozsan (Lyon), Lea Schuller (Bayern Munich), Tabea Wabmuth (Hoffenheim)
Forwards: Fabienne Dongus (Hoffenheim), Johanna Elsig (Turbine Potsdam), Isbaella Hartig (Hoffenheim), Stina Johannes (Essen), Sjoeke Nusken (Eintracht Frankfurt), Carolin Simon (Bayern Munich), Sandra Starke (Freiburg)
Republic of Ireland
Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (24 caps / 10 clean sheets), Courtney Brosnan (2 caps / 1 clean sheet), Grace Moloney (2 caps / 0 clean sheets), Niamh Reid-Burke (5 caps / 0 clean sheets)
Defenders: Harriet Scott (21 caps / 0 goals), Keeva Keenan (2 caps / 0 goals), Claire Walsh (2 caps / 0 goals), Louise Quinn (81 caps / 11 goals), Diane Caldwell (78 caps / 3 goals), Claire O'Riordan (15 caps / 0 goals), Eabha O'Mahony (1 cap / 0 goals), Isibeal Atkinson (3 caps / 0 goals), Aine O'Gorman (104 caps / 13 goals)
Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (91 caps / 0 goals), Jamie Finn (1 cap / 0 goals), Denise O'Sullivan (79 caps / 11 goals), Niamh Farrelly (2 caps / 0 goals), Ruesha Littlejohn (58 caps / 6 goals), Ellen Molloy (1 cap / 0 goals), Jessica Ziu (3 caps / 0 goals), Emily Whelan (3 caps / 0 goals)
Forwards: Katie McCabe (47 caps / 9 goals), Heather Payne (13 caps / 0 goals), Amber Barrett (19 caps / 2 goals), Rianna Jarrett (12 caps / 1 goal) 

Click here to access the official Media Guide for this game

7 games played 
10 goals scored 
3 clean sheets 
92 attempts on goal 
25 attempts on target 
24 attempts blocked 
39 corners won 
3 – Katie McCabe 
2 – Diane Caldwell 
1 – Amber Barrett, Rianna Jarrett, Denise O’Sullivan, Tyler Toland, Shmatko OG 
2 – Rianna Jarrett, Katie McCabe, Louise Quinn 
1 – Amber Barrett, Denise O’Sullivan 
Clean Sheets 
2 – Marie Hourihan 
1 – Courtney Brosnan 
Yellow Cards 
2 – Diane Caldwell, Katie McCabe
1 – Jamie Finn, Julie-Ann Russell 
August 31, 2019: Germany 10-0 Montenegro 
September 3, 2019: Republic of Ireland 2-0 Montenegro 
September 3, 2019: Ukraine 0-8 Germany 
October 5, 2019: Germany 8-0 Ukraine 
October 8, 2019: Republic of Ireland 3-2 Ukraine 
October 8, 2019: Greece 0-5 Germany 
November 6, 2019: Montenegro 0-4 Greece 
November 12, 2019: Greece 1-1 Republic of Ireland 
March 5, 2020: Republic of Ireland 1-0 Greece 
March 11, 2020: Montenegro 0-3 Republic of Ireland 
September 18, 2020: Montenegro 1-3 Ukraine 
September 19, 2020: Germany 3-0 Republic of Ireland 
September 22, 2020: Montenegro 0-3 Germany 
September 22, 2020: Ukraine 4-0 Greece 
October 21, 2020: Greece 1-0 Montenegro
October 23, 2020: Ukraine 1-0 Republic of Ireland
October 26, 2020: Greece 0-4 Ukraine
November 26, 2020: Germany 6-0 Greece
November 30, 2020: Ukraine v Montenegro 
December 1, 2020: Republic of Ireland v Germany
September 17, 2014: Germany 2-0 Republic of Ireland
April 5, 2014: Republic of Ireland 2-3 Germany
August 26, 2006: Republic of Ireland 0-3 Germany
May 10, 2006: Germany 1-0 Republic of Ireland
September 19, 2020: Germany 3-0 Republic of Ireland 

  • Germany have won the UEFA Women’s European Championships eight times (1989, 1991, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2005, 2009, 2013)
  • Germany sit second in the FIFA Women’s Rankings, while the Republic of Ireland are currently 31st
  • Germany have only lost once in their last 26 matches, which was the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup quarter-final against Sweden
  • Three members of the Ireland squad play their club football in Germany – Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), and Amber Barrett (FC Koln)

During their camp the WNT used their profile to highlight some worthy causes:


Republic of Ireland v Germany
UEFA 2022 Women’s European Championship Qualifying – Group I
Tuesday, December 1
Tallaght Stadium
KO 17:00
Referee: Sara Persson (Sweden)
Game Hashtag: #IRLGER