PREVIEW | Ireland U21 v Türkiye U21


PREVIEW | Ireland U21 v Türkiye U21

Ireland Under-21s will kick-off their European Qualification campaign when they face Türkiye in Turner’s Cross on Friday evening.
7th Sep 2023

It will be the first competitive outing for Jim Crawford’s new look Under-21s who go into the game following wins over Iceland, Kuwait and a draw with U21 EURO semi-finalists Ukraine.
The team trained at FAI HQ, Abbotstown this week before travelling to Cork where they’ll be based for the remainder of the international window.
Wigan Athletic's Baba Adeeko was called-into the squad earlier in the week to replace fellow Galway-man Alex Murphy who picked-up an injury before the players reported for duty.
Fans are advised to get their tickets for the game in advance. A duo deal is available that secures a seat for both qualifiers against Türkiye and San Marino priced at €15 for adults, €10 for juniors and €40 for a family ticket (two adults and two juniors) - Ticketmaster charges apply.
They can be purchased HERE
What they said
Ireland U21 Head Coach Jim Crawford: “Türkiye will have a lot of quality and will be a threat but it is up to us to stand up to that challenge. The crowd in Cork will play a huge part. They were amazing in March and I expect they’ll be just as vocal.”
Ireland U21 Forward Andrew Moran (pictured): “It is good to experience more fans from around country and to play games outside of Dublin. I’ve played at Turner’s Cross before for the Under-17s and again in March and you always feel it’s an occasion when you play here. We'll need that support.”
Team News

St. Patrick’s Athletic striker Conor Carty will miss out due to illness. Oxford United’s Tyler Goodrham has been ruled out through injury.
Match Details

Fixture:  Ireland U21 v Türkiye U21
Date: Friday, September 8
KO time: 7.30pm
Stadium: Turner’s Cross Stadium, Cork
Match coverage: RTÉ Player/ RTÉ News Channel
Match stat: This is the first competitive Under-21s game at Turner’s Cross for 14 years

Republic of Ireland Under-21 Squad

Goalkeepers: Killian Cahill (Brighton & Hove Albion), Josh Keeley (Tottenham Hotspur), Owen Mason (Wexford, on loan from Mansfield Town)

Defenders: James Abankwah (Charlton Athletic, on loan from Udinese), Baba Adeeko (Wigan Athletic), Sam Curtis (St. Patrick’s Athletic), James Furlong (Hull City), Anselmo Garcia MacNulty (PEC Zwolle), Sean Grehan (Crystal Palace), Bosun Lawal (Fleetwood Town, on loan from Celtic), Sean Roughan (Lincoln City)
Midfielders: Zak Gilsenan (Blackburn Rovers), Matt Healy (Royal Francs Borains), Ed McJannet (Lecce), Adam Murphy (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Killian Phillips (Wycombe Wanderers, on loan from Crystal Palace), Rocco Vata (Celtic)
Forwards: Sinclair Armstrong (Queen’s Park Rangers), Aidomo Emakhu (Millwall), Johnny Kenny (Shamrock Rovers, on loan from Celtic), Andrew Moran (Blackburn Rovers, on loan from Brighton & Hove Albion), Tony Springett (Norwich City)