Pauw selects squad for qualifier away to Greece


Pauw selects squad for qualifier away to Greece

Republic of Ireland Women's National Team manager Vera Pauw announced a 24-player squad for the UEFA Women's EURO 2021 qualifier away to Greece.
5th Nov 2019

The qualifier, which will be Ireland's third in the campaign, will take place in Panionios, Athens on Tuesday, November 12, with kick-off set for 13:00 (15:00 local time). 

Midfielder Denise O'Sullivan, who recently helped North Carolina Courage retain their NWSL title in the United States, is included along with three players who have qualified for the quarter-finals of the UEFA Women's Champions League (Louise Quinn, Katie McCabe, Clare Shine).

Wexford Youths forward Rianna Jarrett is also part of the squad following last Sunday's triumph in the Só Hotels FAI Women's Cup Final at Aviva Stadium, while seven other home-based players have been called up.

Ireland sit second in Group I following wins over Montenegro and Ukraine with five goals scored and two conceded. This next game, against Greece, will be the final fixture of 2019 before action resumes in March 2020 with a double header (home to Greece, away to Montenegro). 

The squad will meet up on Wednesday, November 6th to begin preparations for the game before flying to Greece on Sunday ahead of Tuesday's qualifier.

Republic of Ireland WNT Squad
Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid Burke (Peamount United)
Defenders: Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Claire O'Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Louise Quinn (Arsenal), Chloe Mustaki (Shelbourne), Eabha O'Mahony (Cork City WFC)
Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Denise O'Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Stephanie Roche (CF Florentia), Tyler Toland (Manchester City), Hayley Nolan (University of Hartford), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne)
Forwards: Rianna Jarrett (Wexford Youths), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Julie-Ann Russell (Sydney University), Emily Whelan (Shelbourne), Clare Shine (Glasgow City)

Match Details
Greece v Republic of Ireland
UEFA Women's European Championship 2021 Qualifying - Group I
Tuesday, November 12
Nea Smyrna Stadium, Panionios, Athens
KO 13:00 (15:00 local time)