O'Neill selects squad for Wales & Iceland games


O'Neill selects squad for Wales & Iceland games

Republic of Ireland MNT set for Aviva Stadium double header.
13th Mar 2017

Republic of Ireland manager Martin O'Neill unveiled a 39-man provisional squad for the March games against Wales and Iceland at Aviva Stadium.

O'Neill revealed his selection at 'Three' Headquarters as he turns his focus toward the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier against Wales on Friday, 24 March and the 'Three' International Friendly against Iceland on Tuesday, 28 March.

There are first senior call-ups for Brentford defender John Egan and Reading midfielder Liam Kelly, while Newcastle United goalkeeper Rob Elliot returns to the squad for the first time in a year since being injured against Slovakia.

Brighton & Hove Albion defender Shane Duffy misses out due to a foot injury, while Burnley midfielder Robbie Brady will be suspended for the Wales game after collecting his second yellow card of the qualifying campaign last November.

The squad will report into camp on Sunday, 19 March for the 'Three' FAI International Football Awards, which will be broadcast live on RTE2 from 20:30. The shortlist for the Awards will be announced on Tuesday, 14 March.

From Monday, 20 March, the squad will train at the FAI National Training Centre in preparation for the two games. The visit of Wales will be Ireland's fifth qualifying game following victories over Georgia, Moldova and Austria, as well as a draw away to Serbia.

Currently top of Group D, Ireland have six qualifying games remaining - four of which are at home - as well as upcoming friendly games against Iceland, Mexico and Uruguay.

Tickets for the Wales game are sold out, but there are still some on sale for the Iceland game. Also, supporters can avail of the DUO ticket package for the Uruguay and Austria double header this summer via Ticketmaster.ie

Republic of Ireland Provisional Squad
Goalkeepers: Colin Doyle (Bradford City), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday)
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie, Richard Keogh, Alex Pearce (Derby County), Paul McShane (Reading), Andy Boyle (Preston North End), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John Egan (Brentford), Stephen Ward (Burnley), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
Midfielders: Aiden McGeady, Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady (Burnley), David Meyler (Hull City), Liam Kelly (Reading), Darron Gibson (Sunderland), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O'Kane (Leeds United), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Stephen Gleeson (Birmingham City), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff City), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), Jonathan Hayes (Aberdeen), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)
Forwards: Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), Shane Long (Southampton), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town), Daryl Murphy (Newcastle United), Adam Rooney (Aberdeen), Jonathan Walters (Stoke City)

Friday, 24 March: Republic of Ireland v Wales, 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifier - Group D, Aviva Stadium, KO 19:45
Tuesday, 28 March: Republic of Ireland v Iceland, 'Three' International Friendly, Aviva Stadium, KO 19:45