O'Brien names squad for EURO U17 Finals


O'Brien names squad for EURO U17 Finals

Republic of Ireland Under 17 Head Coach Colin O’Brien has named his squad for the UEFA European Under 17 Championship in Croatia.
30th Apr 2017

The squad depart Dublin on Monday ahead of their opening game against Serbia on Thursday, May 4 at Stadium Kostrena, Kostrena. Ireland will also take on Bosnia & Herzegovina and Germany as they bid to make it out of Group C.

O’Brien is pleased with how preparations have gone so far. “Everybody is ready to go. The squad has been named and obviously we had a few tough decisions to make - that’s the nature of the international game. We’ve had over 20 players that have contributed this year in the campaign,” he said.

“We’ve had two pull out from the original squad. Glen McAuley from Liverpool has withdrawn for his own personal reasons and Conor Coventry from West Ham United has a broken toe, so that will force him out of the campaign."

Ireland made it through qualifying with an unbeaten record; winning all six games, scoring 16 goals and recording four clean sheets. It puts them in a good position going into the tournament.

O’Brien’s side kick off their tournament campaign on Thursday, May 4 when they face Serbia and follow it up with a clash against Bosnia & Herzegovina on Sunday, May 7 before meeting Germany on Wednesday, May 10, which will be screened live on Eurosport 1.

The top two in each group will progress to the last eight. The final tournament will also act as the European qualifier for UEFA's five berths in the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup in India, running from October 6 to 28. 

Republic of Ireland Under 17 Squad - UEFA European Under 17 Championship

Goalkeepers: Brian Maher (St Patrick’s Athletic), Kian Clarke (Bohemians)

Defenders: Lee O’Connor (Manchester United), Kameron Ledwidge (St Kevin’s Boys), Nathan Collins (Cherry Orchard), Jordan Doherty (Sheffield United), Daryl Walsh (Waterford FC), Joe Redmond (Birmingham City) 

Midfielders: Aaron Bolger (Shamrock Rovers), Luke Nolan (St Patrick’s Athletic), Brandon Kavanagh (Bohemians), Richard O’Farrell (St Patrick’s Athletic), Gavin Kilkenny (Bournemouth), Tyreik Wright (Lakewood AFC) 

Forwards: Callum Thompson (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Rowan Roache (Blackpool), Adam Idah (College Corinthians), Aaron Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion)


Thursday, 4 May: Republic of Ireland v Serbia, Stadium Kostrena, KO 15:30 Irish Time

Sunday 7 May: Republic of Ireland v Bosnia & Herzegovina, Stadium Kostrena, Kostrena, KO 15:30 Irish Time

Wednesday, 10 May: Republic of Ireland v Germany, Stadium Rujevica, Rijeka, KO 11:00 Irish Time, LIVE on Eurosport 1