O’Neill names provisional squad for England and Scotland


O’Neill names provisional squad for England and Scotland

12th May 2015

O’Neill names provisional squad for England and Scotland games

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Martin O'Neill has named a provisional 33 man squad for Ireland's upcoming Three International Friendly against England in Aviva Stadium on Sunday, June 7, and UEFA Euro 2016 Group D qualifier against Scotland in Aviva Stadium on Saturday, June 13.

Today’s provisional squad announcement sees the inclusion of Brentford’s Alan Judge and Aberdeen’s Adam Rooney.

The squad will be shortened ahead of assembling on June 1.

Speaking at today's press conference in SSE Airtricity’s head office in Leopardstown, Republic of Ireland manager Martin O’Neill said, “We have some very big games coming up, which the players will savour to be a part of. I have named a provisional squad today, which I will shorten before we meet up on June 1. I am looking forward to meeting up, and setting to work with the players.”

Tickets are currently on sale for both fixtures through clubs and leagues, and will go on general sale in the coming weeks, subject to availability.

Goalkeepers: David Forde (Milwall), Shay Given (Aston Villa), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (Birmingham City).

Defenders: Richard Keogh (Derby County), Marc Wilson (Stoke City), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Derby County), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce (Reading), Paul McShane (Hull City), Stephen Ward (Burnley).

Midfielders: James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Aiden McGeady (Everton), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Alan Judge (Brentford), Robbie Brady (Hull City), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff City), Stephen Quinn (Hull City), David Meyler (Hull City), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City).

Strikers: Robbie Keane (L.A. Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town), Jon Walters (Stoke City), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), Anthony Stokes (Celtic), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town), Adam Rooney (Aberdeen), Simon Cox (Reading)