McShane announces Shield squad for Scotland

#6 Republic of Ireland Schools.jpg

McShane announces Shield squad for Scotland

Republic of Ireland Schools Head Coach John McShane has named his squad ahead of the Centenary Shield opener this Thursday night (February 23) as they travel to Renfrew FC to take on Scotland (7pm).
22nd Feb 2023

The scholars got their 2023 campaign off to a cracking start with a 2-1 victory over a physical Australian outfit in an International Friendly at Home Farm FC last month.

Eoin Kenny (St. Mary’s College, Dundalk) and Brian Cunningham (Presentation College, Headford) both scored in the 2-1 win as Ireland look for a repeat result against the Scottish tomorrow evening.

Head Coach McShane is hoping his players can produce more of the same as he enters his second year at the helm.

“Last year we came to within a game of securing the Centenary shield, so this year will be an opportunity to go that step further. This year’s preparations have gone well and the addition of the Australia game means that we are more prepared for this campaign than we were this stage last year," said McShane.

"Our squad is strong in all departments and the character of these players makes me believe that we have the best young players in the Country. Past players such as Paddy Madden, Liam Scales, Daryl Horgan, Jamie McGrath, Alan Browne, Andy Boyle, Sean Maguire, and many more prove that.

"This Centenary Shield is a great opportunity for young home based players to showcase their abilities and character traits on the international stage while completing their Leaving Certificate."

The Republic of Ireland Schools were invited to participate in the SAFIB Centenary Shield twenty years ago (2003) and since then, the Irish have won the Shield seven times.

The Irish last won the Shield in 2018 when William O'Connor, then of Balbriggan Community College, made his management debut. Previous to that, it was 2015, when Paddy O’Reilly, from Trinity Comprehensive School, Ballymun claimed the title in his first season in charge.

Republic of Ireland Schools Squad v Scotland

Ryan DELANEY (St. Francis College, Rochestown), Jonathan ADEDEJI (St. Mary’s Secondary School, Edenderry), Jesse DEMPSEY (Wexford CBS), Eli ROONEY (Summerhill College, Sligo), Niall HOLOHAN (Carrick on Shannon Community School), Senan MULLEN (St. Aidan’s Comprehensive School, Cootehill), Callum BONNER (St. Patrick’s Classical School, Navan), Arran HEALY (Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig), Peter GROGAN (St. Mary’s CBS, Carlow), Rhys KELLY NOONAN (Coláiste Muire, Crosshaven), Eoin KENNY (St. Mary’s College, Dundalk), Adam O’HALLORAN (Clarin College, Athenry), Ryan McBREARTY (St. Mary’s Diocesan School, Drogheda), Brian CUNNINGHAM (Presentation College, Headford), Aidan RUSSELL VARGAS (Lusk Community College), Daithí FOLAN (Belvedere College, Dublin).

Republic of Ireland Schools - Fixtures

23/02 - Scotland vs Republic of Ireland, Renfrew FC
09/03 - Republic of Ireland vs Wales, Ferrycarrig Park, Wexford
24/03 - Republic of Ireland vs England, Athlone Town AFC
30/03 - Northern Ireland vs Republic of Ireland, Blanchflower Park