McCaffrey makes changes to Under-19 squad for training camp

McCaffrey makes changes to Under-19 squad for training camp

Republic of Ireland Under-19 manager Sean McCaffrey will hold a three-day training for an extended squad from next Monday ahead of their UEFA Elite qualifiers in Belgium from June 5-10. 
14th May 2009
Republic of Ireland Under-19 manager Sean McCaffrey has been forced to make a number of changes in personnel to his extended squad which will take in a home-based training camp next week as part of preparations for their upcoming UEFA Elite qualifiers in Belgium from June 5-10.

The Irish side will be up against Sweden, Switzerland and hosts, Belgium, for only one qualifying spot available for the UEFA Under-19 Championship finals to be held in the Ukraine this July.

The Irish get their series underway on the June 5 against Belgium at the Complex Op de Keiberg in Tongeren before playing Switzerland at the same venue two days later. They play their last game against Sweden on June 10 at the Sport Centrum in Tessenderio.

Injuries to some players as well as club commitments have resulted in a number of withdrawals from the original 27-player panel named for the training camp in Dublin from May 18-20.

Amongst those unable to participate are Crystal Palace striker Sean Scannell (Crystal Palace) and Callum Morris (Newcastle United), both through injury, while Blackburn Rovers quartet Aaron Doran, Gavin Gunning, Callum O’Connor and Gearoid Morrissey are on club duty next week.

In their places, McCaffrey has drafted in goalkeepers Brian Collopy (Limerick FC) and Ciaran Gallagher (Finn Harps) along with outfield players Chris Shiels (Bray Wanderers), Conor McCormack (Triestina, Italy), Paul Murphy (Ipswich Town), David McDaid (Finn Harps), Ryan Brett and Joe Mason (both Plymouth Argyle).

Republic of Ireland Under-19 Squad (revised) for 3-day training camp in Dublin (May 18-20):
Kieron Thorp - Crystal Palace
Ian McLoughlin - Ipswich Town
Brian Collopy - Limerick FC
Ciaran Gallagher - Finn Harps
Lanre Oyebanjo - Histon
Johnny Dunleavy - Wolves
Danny Kelly - Norwich City
Damian McCrory - Plymouth Argyle
Chris Shiels - Bray Wanderers
Kurtis Byrne - Hibernian FC
Jamie Devitt - Hull City
Conor Hourihane - Sunderland
Conor Clifford - Chelsea
Richie Towell - Celtic
Greg Cunningham - Manchester City
James O’Brien - Birmingham City
Patrick O’Connor - Millwall
Matty Mainwaring - Stockport County
Conor McCormack – Triestina (Italy)
Paul Murphy - Ipswich Town
Ronan Murray - Ipswich Town
Paddy Madden - Shelbourne
Jamil Adam - Barnsley
David McDaid - Finn Harps
Ryan Brett - Plymouth Argyle
Joe Mason - Plymouth Argyle