Kenny confirms 25-man squad for June qualifiers


Kenny confirms 25-man squad for June qualifiers

Republic of Ireland manager Stephen Kenny has selected a 25-man squad for the upcoming UEFA EURO 2024 qualifiers against Greece and Gibraltar.
1st Jun 2023

Ireland are set to travel to Turkey next week for a nine-day training camp in Antalya before the squad head to Athens to face Greece on Friday, June 16. Ireland will then return to Dublin for the second UEFA EURO 2024 qualifier of the June window against Gibraltar at the Aviva Stadium on Monday, June 19.

Midfield duo Jeff Hendrick and Alan Browne have been selected for the camp after overcoming injury concerns whilst there is a return to the squad for Middlesbrough centre-back Darragh Lenihan and Liam Scales, who enjoyed an impressive loan spell at Aberdeen from Celtic last season.

Peterborough United midfielder Jack Taylor has also been recalled to the squad having impressed in the training camp in Bristol last week. Chiedozie Ogbene, who reported for the Bristol training camp for rehabilitation on a hamstring injury, has been ruled out of the two qualifiers.

The two-match pack for the Gibraltar and Netherlands fixtures remain on sale from Ticketmaster here with over 44,250 tickets distributed for the Gibraltar qualifier on Monday, June 19 with Ireland set for another big Aviva Stadium crowd.

Republic of Ireland Squad - Greece & Gibraltar

Goalkeepers: Gavin Bazunu (Southampton), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth)
Defenders: Matt Doherty (Atlético Madrid), Mark Sykes (Bristol City), Callum O'Dowda (Cardiff City), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Nathan Collins (Wolverhampton Wanderers), John Egan (Sheffield United), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Darragh Lenihan (Middlesbrough), Liam Scales (Celtic).
Midfielders: Josh Cullen (Burnley), Jayson Molumby (West Bromwich Albion), Jeff Hendrick (Reading), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Will Smallbone (Southampton), Jason Knight (Derby County), Jamie McGrath (Wigan Athletic), Jack Taylor (Peterborough United).
Forwards: Adam Idah (Norwich City), Michael Obafemi (Burnley), Evan Ferguson (Brighton and Hove Albion), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Mikey Johnston (Vitória de Guimarães, on loan from Celtic).

UEFA EURO 2024 - Fixtures

16/06 - Greece v Ireland, OPAP Arena, 7.45pm (21.45pm local time)
19/06 - Ireland v Gibraltar, Aviva Stadium, 7.45pm