Irish women’s squad for EURO qualifier in Tallaght

Irish women’s squad for EURO qualifier in Tallaght

The Republic of Ireland Women's senior international team will seek to bounce back into contention in the EURO 2013 qualifying tournament after their recent loss to France when they play Israel on Saturday, October 22 at Tallaght Stadium.
16th Oct 2011

Ireland currently stand third in the table after two matches. They defeated Wales 2-0 and then lost 1-3 to France, who were World Cup semi-finalists last July.

Ireland's Head Coach, Sue Ronan named 20 players in her squad for the match against Israel which will kick-off at 3pm on Saturday.

Included in the squad is Irish U19 captain, Dora Gorman who missed the match against France because of her involvement with the U19 UEFA Championship qualifiers.

Chicago Reds attacker, Michele O'Brien also returns to the squad after an ankle injury and work commitments ruled her out of recent internationals.

Tickets for the game at Tallaght Stadium are priced at €5 for adults and €2 for children which is payable at the turnstiles. Complimentary tickets are also available for Schoolboy/girl clubs. For further information, please email

Speaking at the squad announcement, Republic of Ireland Head Coach, Sue Ronan called on her players to respond positively to last month's 3-1 defeat to France in the qualifiers, "I was absolutely delighted with the team's performance against France last month even though we lost 3-1.

"Defensively, we were very strong in the opening 45 minutes against France and we maybe should have even taken a 1-0 lead before the break.

"The result in Turners Cross could have been different were it not for a couple of sloppy goals in the second half. It is now up to us to get a win and get our qualification ambitions back on track with three points."

Republic of Ireland squad:

Emma Byrne - Arsenal FC

Niamh Reid-Burke - Raheny United FC

Yvonne Tracy - Arsenal FC

Diane Caldwell - Thor/KA FC

Megan Campbell - Raheny United FC

Louise Quinn - Peamount United FC

Becky Walsh - Salthill Devon FC

Grace Murray - Peamount United FC

Marie Curtin - Kilmallock FC

Niamh Fahey - Arsenal FC

Ciara Grant - Arsenal FC

Dora Gorman - Raheny United FC/UCD

Julie-Ann Russell - Peamount United FC

Meabh de Burca - Boston Aztec FC

Fiona O'Sullivan - Pitea IF

Michele O'Brien - Chicago Red Eleven FC

Aine O'Gorman - Peamount United FC

Denise O'Sullivan - Wilton United FC

Stephanie Roche - Peamount United FC

Emma Mullin - Castlebar Celtic FC


Sue Ronan