Irish Deaf team qualify for European Championships


Irish Deaf team qualify for European Championships

The Republic of Ireland deaf team have qualified for next year's European Championships after a 3-0 win over Sweden.
27th May 2018

Needing only a draw to qualify for Crete 2019, Stuart Hayden's side booked their tickets to the Greek island, after a dominant performance on Saturday afternoon in the FAI National Training Centre.

Leading 1-0 at half-time through a David Murray goal, the win was ensured early in the second half with Jake Cassidy scoring twice in the space of ten minutes to guarantee the win.

Republic of Ireland squad:
Michael Walsh, Chris Fisher, Darren Dunne, Noel O'Donnell, Jason Maguire (capt), Mark Sinclair, Sean Young, Patrick Maher, Joey Watson, Jake Cassidy, Kevin Dudley, Daniel Landers, Richard Beattie, Daniel Okesanya, David Murry, Liam Mitchell, Andrew Ennis McLoughlin


Manager: Stuart Hayden. Asst Manager: Michael Johnston. Coach: Philip Connolly.