Ireland WU19: Connell announces qualifying round squad


Ireland WU19: Connell announces qualifying round squad

Republic of Ireland Women's Under-19s Head Coach Dave Connell has named his squad ahead of the UEFA 2018 European Championships qualifying round.
11th Oct 2017

The WU19s side face a trip to the Netherlands next week as they look to progress to the elite round in their quest to qualify for the European Championships in Switzerland in July 2018. 

Ireland face Estonia on Wednesday, October 18th, with kick-off at 3pm, Latvia on Saturday, October 21st, with kick-off at 12pm and the qualifying group hosts the Netherlands on Tuesday, October 24th, with kick-off at 6pm.

There is plenty of Continental Tyres Women's National League representation in the squad as Peamount United's Niamh Farrelly, Cork City Women's Saoirse Noonan and Galway WFC defender Sadhbh Doyle have all been selected. 

Shelbourne Ladies midfielder Alex Kavanagh misses out through an injury and Galway's Rachel Baynes also misses out through illness. Kavanagh sustained her injury in the 1-0 FAI Cup semi-final defeat against UCD Waves, but Tiegan Ruddy comes into the squad after making her return from injury in the same match. 

Republic of Ireland WU19's Head Coach Dave Connell said: "I'm really looking forward to working with the group ahead of next week's qualifying round fixtures.

"It'll be a tough task for the players as we will be facing three good sides, including the Netherlands, who were last year's U17s and U19s semi finalist. You can never take anything for granted in football but I'm sure if we can play to the best of our abilities, we have every chance to progress to the elite phase.

"We've got some experience in the squad as Saoirse Noonan, who was the WU17 Player of the Year last year, continues with the team but we'll also welcome in some new faces. Chloe Singleton, Phoebe Warner, Sadhbh Doyle and Tiegan Ruddy were all involved with the Under-17s last year so I'm really looking forward to working with them.

"Whilst it is a shame we're missing Alex Kavanagh and Rachel Baynes through injury, and Heather Payne and Leanne Kiernan are currently involved with our senior team, we've got plenty of players in the squad who have played a lot of Women's National League football this season and that can only be a real positive for us."

Republic of Ireland WU19 squad

Goalkeepers: Naoisha McAloon (Peamount United), Sophie Lenihan (Wexford Youths)

Defenders: Sadhbh Doyle (Galway WFC), Chloe Singleton (Galway WFC), Tiegan Ruddy (Shelbourne Ladies), Lauren O'Callaghan (Peamount United), Lynn Craven (Shelbourne Ladies), Jade Reddy (Peamount United)

Midfielders: Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Orla Casey (Wexford Youths), Phoebe Warner (Aston Villa), Tara O'Gorman (Cork City WFC), Keelin McEntee (UCD Waves), Daniele Burke (Cork City WFC), Leah Reybet Degat (Team Vaud).

Attackers: Carla McManus (Peamount United), Chloe McNamee (Shelbourne Ladies), Saoirse Noonan (Cork City WFC), Kate Mooney (Shelbourne Ladies) Lauren Kelly ( UCD Waves )