Ireland WU17: Bell names 20-player squad


Ireland WU17: Bell names 20-player squad

Republic of Ireland Women's Under 17 Head Coach Colin Bell has named a 20-player squad for the UEFA European Championships qualifying round.
19th Oct 2018

The WU17 squad travel to Serbia to face the host nation, Wales and Albania in Group Seven in the qualifying round which begins on Monday, October 22. 

Ireland face Albania on Monday before Wales on Thursday, October 25 and Serbia on Sunday, October 28 as they look to qualify for the Elite Round next year. 

Colin Bell has faced a number of injury problems coming into the qualifying round with Peamount United's Della Doherty, UCD Waves' Shauna Carroll and Cork City's Zara Foley all ruled out through injury. 

Emily Kraft has been brought into the squad from German side FFC Frankfurt whilst Erin McLaughlin from Sea Rover FC in Donegal also comes into the squad after impressing in home-based training at Abbotstown. 

"It is going to be a difficult qualifying round for the group as the quality of the opposition is very good," said Head Coach Colin Bell.

"The players need to be at it from the first minute of the first game against Albania and we need to build on what we learnt from the two games against the Czech Republic in Waterford last month. 

"We're missing a few players but the group have worked hard in recent training sessions at Abbotstown and I'm confident we've got enough quality in the group to progress to the Elite Round."

Republic of Ireland Women's Under 17 squad

Goalkeepers: Courtney Maguire (Shelbourne Ladies), Maeve Williams (Wexford Youths)

Defenders: Therese Kinneavey (Galway Women's), Eabha O'Mahony (Cork City WFC), Kayla Brady (Galway Women's), Shauna Brennan (Galway Women's), Ellie Ferguson (Shelbourne Ladies), Mia Dodd (Shelbourne Ladies).

Midfielders: Rebecca Cooke (Shelbourne Ladies), Orla Prendergast (UCD Waves), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne Ladies), Aoibhin Clancy (Limerick FC), Erin McLaughlin (Sea Rover FC).

Forwards: Emily Kraft (FFC Frankfurt), Emily Whelan (Shelbourne Ladies), Blessing Kingsley (Wexford Youths), Aoife Horgan (Limerick FC), Sophie Liston (Limerick FC), Katelyn Keogh (Athlone Town FC), Lauren Egbuloniu (Cork City).

UEFA European Championships - Qualifying Round, Group Seven Fixtures

22/10 - Republic of Ireland v Albania, Sports Centre of Serbian FA, Stara Pazova, 11am
25/10 - Republic of Ireland v Wales, Sports Centre of Serbian FA, Stara Pazova, 11am
28/10 - Serbia v Republic of Ireland, Sports Centre of Serbian FA, Stara Pazova, 11am