Ireland WU17: Bell names 20-player Elite Round squad


Ireland WU17: Bell names 20-player Elite Round squad

Republic of Ireland Women's Under-17 Head Coach Colin Bell has named his squad for the upcoming UEFA Elite Round in Scotland.
15th Mar 2019

The WU17 squad travel to Edinburgh, Scotland on Saturday, March 16 to face the hosts, Germany and Norway as they bid to qualify for the finals tournament in Bulgaria in May. 

Colin Bell's side are in one of the toughest Elite Round groups as they face Germany, finalists in the competition last year, with just the top-placed team set to qualify for the finals. 

There have only been two changes to the squad which travelled to Iceland for a friendly double-header in February. Shelbourne midfielder Taylor White and Cork City defender Zara Foley have come into the squad for the three elite round fixtures. 

Ireland are set to face Norway on Wednesday, March 20, Germany on Saturday, March 23 and hosts Scotland on Tuesday, March 26. 

"I'm delighted to welcome back Zara Foley into the squad after her injury, she's a crucial member of the team and it's great to have her available for the Elite Round," said WU17 Head Coach Colin Bell.

"Taylor White has been in great form for Shelbourne and she was a key member of the squad for last year's Elite Round so we're also delighted to welcome her back.

"It's going to be a difficult round of fixtures but we've got to be confident in our style of play and the work we've done over the course of the year. I've seen fantastic levels of improvement from the players and we need to be confident going into the elite round. 

"We've got a number of players in the squad who've recently spent time with the Women's National Team in Spain; Jessica Ziu, Emily Whelan and Eabha O'Mahony. Hopefully they can bring their experience into the three games as we look to qualify for the finals." 

Republic of Ireland Women's Under-17 squad

Goalkeepers: Courtney Maguire (Shelbourne), Maeve Williams (Wexford Youths).

Defenders: Therese Kinnevey (Galway Women's), Eabha O'Mahony (Cork City), Ellie Ferguson (Shelbourne), Shauna Brennan (Galway Women's), Mia Dodd (Shelbourne), Zara Foley (Cork City).

Midfielders: Rebecca Cooke (Shelbourne), Aoibheann Clancy (Limerick), Orla Prendergast (Peamount United), Della Doherty (Peamount United), Erin McLaughlin (Sea Rovers FC), Taylor White (Shelbourne).

Attackers: Lauren Egbuloniu (Cork City), Sophie Liston (Limerick), Emily Whelan (Shelbourne), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Blessing Kingsley (Wexford Youths), Emily Kraft (FFC Frankfurt).

Fixtures - UEFA Elite Round - Group Four

20/03 - Republic of Ireland v Norway, 5.30pm, National Performance Centre, Edinburgh
23/03 - Germany v Republic of Ireland, 12pm, National Performance Centre, Edinburgh
26/03 - Scotland v Republic of Ireland, 2.30pm, Ainslie Park, Edinburgh