Ireland WNT: Campbell likely to miss WWC campaign


Ireland WNT: Campbell likely to miss WWC campaign

Republic of Ireland Women's National Team defender Megan Campbell is likely to miss the rest of the FIFA 2019 World Cup qualifying campaign after rupturing her ACL.
17th Nov 2017

The 24-year old ruptured the ACL in her right knee during Manchester City's 2-1 UEFA Women's Champions League victory over LSK Kvinner on Thursday night.

Drogheda-born Campbell suffered the injury in the 54th minute of the game and is now likely to miss the rest of the FIFA 2019 World Cup qualifying campaign. 

Ireland are set to face the Netherlands, the reigning European Champions, on Tuesday, November 28th with kick-off at 7pm (8pm local time) as they look to continue their unbeaten campaign. 

Campbell claimed an assist and scored in the 2-0 victory over Northern Ireland and Head Coach Colin Bell has backed the defender to come back from the injury stronger than ever.

Republic of Ireland WNT Head Coach Colin Bell said: "It is a horrible moment in any players' career to suffer a long-term injury. Megan has worked extremely hard to make her way back from a previous injury, showing tremendous character to do so.

"She's been a vital part of the team with both her defensive and attacking capabilities, and she's a leader on and off the field. She'll be a big loss to us whilst she recovers but knowing her and determined character, I'm sure she'll be back even stronger.

"She's already played a vital role in the first two wins of the campaign and hopefully, the team can continue that form which she has helped us build in her absence."

UCD Waves defender Claire Walsh has also been ruled out of the upcoming trip to the Netherlands through injury so Colin Bell has now called up Peamount United's Niamh Farrelly and Galway's Aislinn Meaney to the 21-player squad.

Republic of Ireland WNT squad to face Netherlands

Goalkeepers:  Marie Hourihan (Manchester City), Amanda Budden (Cork City WFC), Amanda McQuillan (Shelbourne)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Reading), Sophie Perry (Brighton and Hove Albion), Diane Caldwell, (SC Sand), Louise Quinn (Arsenal), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Aislinn Meaney (Galway).

Midfielders: Tyler Toland (Maiden City), Niamh Fahey (Bordeaux), Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Denise O’Sullivan (NC Courage), Roma McLaughlin (Shelbourne).

Attackers: Katie McCabe (Arsenal, on loan at Glasgow City), Leanne Kiernan (Shelbourne), Heather Payne (Peamount United), Amber Barrett (Peamount United), Claire O’Riordan (Wexford Youths), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Ruesha Littlejohn (Celtic).