Ireland U19 fall to 2-0 defeat against Denmark

Screenshot 2019-10-14 at 20.56.13.png

Ireland U19 fall to 2-0 defeat against Denmark

The Republic of Ireland Under-19 team lost 2-0 to Denmark in a friendly at The Showgrounds on Monday afternoon.
14th Oct 2019

Goals from Arman Taranis and Oliver Sorensen were enough for the Danes to make it two wins out of two over Tom Mohan’s team in Sligo.

Following Friday night’s 1-0 defeat there were 10 changes to the starting XI as Mohan utilised his squad ahead of next month’s UEFA European Under-19 Championship qualifiers in Austria.

Among the changes was Manchester United’s Harvey Neville who was making his first start for an Ireland team.

Ireland started the brighter with Conor Grant forcing a corner early on and Denmark’s Jonathan Fischer forced into a save from the resulting set piece.

Denmark grew into the game and Oliver Villadsen had an effort from distance that just curled over the top of Bobby Jones’ cross bar.

And it was the visitors who took the lead on 22 minutes. Gustav Morgensen forced a save from Jones but Taranis was on hand to force the ball over the line. Denmark could have made it two shortly after when Mads Hansen headed wide.

Ireland went in search for the equaliser and Grant was involved again. The Sheffield Wednesday man collected a Neville pass and advanced from the corner of the 18-yard box but his effort went just inches wide of the far post.

In the second half Ireland continued their pressure. Good work down the right saw Tom Cannon fire off an effort that was just grabbed by Fischer at the second attempt.

The hosts couldn’t turn their chances into goals and Denmark extended their lead on 65 minutes when Taranis pulled the ball back for Sorensen to tap home.

Ireland had opportunities late on with Barry Coffey just striking wide and Dawson Devoy’s cross unfortunately evading both Coffey and Alex Gilbert in the penalty area.

Jamie Bowden tried a speculative effort in the final minute but his 25-yard shot was matched by the Danish keeper as Ireland failed to get the goal their play deserved.

Republic of Ireland: Jones (Bohan, 60); Greenwood, McGuiness (Sobowale), Richards, Neville (Higgins, 46); Omobamidele (Coffey, 71), Tierney (Bowden, 60), Ebosele, Grant (Oko-Flex, 71), Cannon (Gilbert, 71); Nunn (Devoy, 46)

Denmark: Fischer; Ross Jensen, Haahr, Ibrahimagic, Taranis, Hjaelmhof, Hansen, Mortensen, Morgensen, Sommer Sorensen, Villadsen.