Ireland U16: Squad named for Victory Shield

Osam Victory Shield

Ireland U16: Squad named for Victory Shield

Republic of Ireland Under-16 Head Coach Paul Osam has named a 19-man squad for the upcoming Victory Shield in Co. Kerry.
9th Nov 2018

Ireland are hosting the competition for the first time and Osam's side are looking to make it a hat-trick of wins in the competition after lifting the historic trophy in Northern Ireland last year and in Scotland in 2016.

Speaking at the squad announcement, Osam said he was looking forward to the matches, after impressive results in Bulgaria earlier this season.

"We're always looking for good performances, but we have to look at the players' development as well.

"It is a tournament that's there to be won. We'll do our best to make it three wins in a row."

Kyle Conway and Anselmo Garcia MacNulty have played for the Under-16s this year, but have been called up to Colin O'Brien's Under-17 Squad for the International Tournament currently taking place in Dublin. Osam says its shows the quality of the Under-16 squad.

"I'm delighted for the players. It's a blow to us not to have Kyle and Anselmo in the squad, but if it strengthens the Under-17s that is what it's all about." 

NOTE: FAI Season Ticket holders get free entry into all 2018 Victory Shield games.

Republic of Ireland Squad
Goalkeepers: Josh Keely (St. Patrick's Athletic), Daniel Rose (Everton) 
Defenders: Fionnan Coyle (Finn Harps), CJ Egan-Reilly (Manchester City), Oisin Hand (Shamrock Rovers), Ronan Kilkenny (Bohemians), Gavin O'Brien (Bohemians), Adam Wells (Shamrock Rovers)
Midfielders: Kailin Barlow (Sligo Rovers), Colin Conroy (Bohemians), Oran Crowe (Cork City), Jamie Doyle (St. Patrick's Athletic), Lee Harkin (Tristar Boys), Ben McCormack (St. Patrick's Athletic), Andrew Moran (Bray Wanderers)
Forwards: Sinclair Armstrong (Shamrock Rovers), Louie Barry (West Bromwich Albion), Oliver O'Neill (Fulham), Billy Vance (Bray Wanderers)

2018 Victory Shield Fixtures
12/11: Scotland v Wales, St. Brendan's Park, 1pm
12/11: Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland, Mounthawk Park, 6pm

14/11: Republic of Ireland v Wales, Mounthawk Park, 1pm
14/11: Northern Ireland v Scotland, Mounthawk Park, 6pm

16/11: Scotland v Republic of Ireland, Tralee Dynamos, 1pm
16/11: Wales v Northern Ireland, Mounthawk Park, 1pm