Ireland CP: Ireland beat Japan in play-offs

Ireland CP v Japan

Ireland CP: Ireland beat Japan in play-offs

The Ireland CP team's ambitions to seal a top-10 place at the IFCPF World Cup are on track after a 3-0 victory against Japan.
14th Jul 2019

Having failed to qualify for the Quarter Finals following a draw with the USA on Friday, Paul Breen’s team are determined to finish the tournament strongly.

They were made to wait for their opening goal with Arklow Town’s Ryan Nolan finding the net shortly before half time. It was a well worked goal with Darragh Ruane providing a quality pull back for Nolan to break the deadlock.

Minutes later, in first half stoppage time, captain Gary Messett made it 2-0 with an excellent strike to give Ireland a cushion going into the break.

Ireland started the second half as they ended the first with Nolan scoring a third which killed off the game. 

Next up for Ireland is a tough test against Canada on Tuesday. The Canadians will be coming into the game full of confidence after beating hosts Spain 3-0.

Ireland: Mark Barry (GK), Joe Markey, Darragh Byrne, Gary Messett (C), James Naughton, Darragh Ruane, Oisin Merritt.
Substitutes: Carl McKee, Alan Moore, Ryan Nolan, Dillon Sheridan, Sam Carroll, Josh Treacy, Aaron Tier.

Japan: Hideyuki Yanagi, Tatsuhiro Ura (C), Tomoshia Ono, Tetsuya Toda, Ryosuke Miura, Taisei Taniguchi, Yoshki  Kubo.
Substitutes: Shotaro Osawa, Hori Yuya, Yamato Motoyakano, Riku Kono, Itta Ninomiya, Kenichro Akahage.

IFCPF World Cup results
Ireland 10 v 0 Finland 
Iran 4-1 Ireland
Ireland 1-1 USA
Ireland 3-0 Japan 

16/07/2019: Canada v Ireland (10:10am Irish time), Seville

Republic of Ireland CP squad:
Goalkeeper: Mark Barry (Raheny United)
Defenders: Joseph Markey (Carrick Rovers), Darragh Byrne (Home Farm), Darragh Ruane (Mervue United), Joshua Treacy (Celbridge Town)
Midfielders: Gary Messett (C) (Arklow Town), Ryan Nolan (Rathmichael FC), Oisin Merritt (Ballybofey United), Carl McKee (Swords Manor), Alan Moore (Oldcastle United)
Forwards: Dillon Sheridan (Cherry Orchard), Aaron Tier (Geraldines FC), James Naughton (Unattached), Sam Carroll (Ardmore Rovers).