EURO 2012 squad named

EURO 2012 squad named

Giovanni Trapattoni names 23-man squad...
7th May 2012

Giovanni Trapattoni today (May 7) announced a 23 man squad to face Bosnia in the 'Three International Friendly' on May 26 in Aviva Stadium, and later travel to Poland for EURO 2012.

Making the announcement, the Republic of Ireland manager said, "I had a very difficult task in choosing this 23 man squad. Several players have proven their abilities to us during the qualifying campaign, and we are thankful to all who have played a part. However, we are happy with our choices.

"The standby list consists of very capable players who we would be happy to call upon if needed. The game against Bosnia in Aviva stadium will be the beginning of our EURO 2012 journey and it is important for the players to feel the energy from Irish fans before we go to our training camp."

"We will look to emulate the attitude and performance that brought us qualification, and push our limits further as we prepare for this tournament. We will be focused as we enter this important time. "

Republic of Ireland Squad:

Shay Given - Aston Villa

Keiren Westwood - Sunderland

David Forde - Millwall

Richard Dunne - Aston Villa

John O'Shea - Sunderland

Sean St. Ledger - Leicester City

Darren O'Dea - Celtic

Stephen Ward - Wolverhampton Wanderers

Stephen Kelly - Fulham

Kevin Foley - Wolverhampton Wanderers

Glenn Whelan - Stoke City

Darron Gibson - Everton

Keith Andrews - West Bromwich Albion

Keith Fahey - Birmingham City

Damien Duff - Fulham

Aiden McGeady - Spartak Moscow

Stephen Hunt - Wolverhampton Wanderers

James McClean - Sunderland

Robbie Keane - LA Galaxy

Kevin Doyle - Wolverhampton Wanderers

Shane Long - West Bromwich Albion

Simon Cox - West Bromwich Albion

Jon Walters - Stoke City

Standby List

Darren Randolph - Motherwell

Paul McShane - Crystal Palace

Paul Green - Unattached

Seamus Coleman - Everton

Andy Keogh - Millwall.