Duffy & Kiernan top bill at 29th International Awards


Duffy & Kiernan top bill at 29th International Awards

Shane Duffy and Leanne Kiernan won their respective Senior Player of the Year categories at the 29th 'Three' FAI International Awards on Sunday night.
17th Mar 2019

The ceremony, which was broadcast live on RTÉ2, saw Duffy win the Men's Senior Player of the Year for the second year in succession, while Kiernan was named as the Senior Women's Player of the Year following a stellar year in 2018.

Emma Byrne (pictured above) became the first women's player to be inducted into the FAI Hall of Fame and former Republic of Ireland defender Richard Dunne was also honoured in the same category.

Aiden O'Brien won the 'Three' Goal of the Year for his debut header against Poland. The striker was voted ahead of both Troy Parrott (Men's Under-17s v Bosnia & Herzegovina) and Ronan Curtis (Men's Under-21s v Kosovo).

Dundalk midfielder Chris Shields fended off competition from club-mates Pat Hoban and Michael Duffy to collect the SSE Airtricity League Player of the Year.

There was a domestic theme to the Special Merit Award as all-time record goalscorer Brendan Bradley was recognised for his fantastic career that saw him score 235 League goals.

29th 'Three' FAI International Awards

Senior Men's International
Shane Duffy

Senior Women’s International
Leanne Kiernan

Young International
Declan Rice

Goal Of The Year
Aiden O’Brien (Men’s Senior v Poland)

Men’s Under-21s
Ronan Curtis

Men’s Under-19s
Lee O’Connor

Women’s Under-19s
Niamh Farrelly

Men’s Under-18s
Brian Maher

Men’s Under-17s
Adam Idah

Women’s Under-17s
Emily Whelan

Men’s Under-16s
Troy Parrott

Women’s Under-16s
Jessica Ziu

Men’s Under-15s
Anselmo Garcia McNulty

Junior International
Eoin Hayes (Newmarket Celtic)

Intermediate Player
Darragh Reynor (Maynooth University Town)

Football For All
Nathalie O’Brien (Irish Women’s Deaf Futsal)

Colleges & Universities
Daire O’Connor

Ali Regbha (Chanel College, Coolock, Dublin)

SSE Airtricity League
Chris Shields (Dundalk)

Hall of Fame
Richard Dunne / Emma Byrne

International Personality
Kakha Kaladze

Special Merit
Brendan Bradley