Deaf Women's Futsal squad announced for Euro qualifiers


Deaf Women's Futsal squad announced for Euro qualifiers

Head Coach Dave Bell has named a 14-player squad for the forthcoming Deaf Women’s Futsal European Championship Qualifiers in the Netherlands.
22nd Dec 2017

The Republic of Ireland will face Italy, Germany, Denmark and the Netherlands over three days, from Friday, January 5th, to Sunday January 7th. All games will take place in the Sporthal de Bloemhof, just outside Amsterdam.

Laura Clarke has been named as captain in a squad that also includes Continental Tyres Women's National League player Nathalie O'Brien (pictured above). The defender was part of the Cork City Womens team that won the FAI Cup last month.

Speaking at the squad announcement, Head Coach Dave Bell was hopeful of a strong performance from the team in January.

"Although we have never qualified for the Finals before, we are hoping the team can qualify for the Finals in Finland. With all the good preparation and hard work we have done over the past few months that feel this time we have a very good chance of qualifying."

The team travel to Amsterdam, with a backroom staff including Bell and his assistant Ben O'Looney hopeful of a historic tournament for the team.

Republic of Ireland Deaf Women's Futsal Squad: Denise Doran, Emma Barrow, Ciana Dunne, Rebekah Grant, Catherine Grier, Sabrina Hanley, Aisling Hanly, Laura Clarke (captain), Carmel Heery, Nathalie O’Brien, Jade Kavanagh, Kirsten Kelly, Shauna Hamilton and Helen Ward