Connell's WU19 set for Czech double header

Dave Connell

Connell's WU19 set for Czech double header

Dave Connell names squad of 18 for Czech Republic double header in Spain.
28th Feb 2017

The Republic of Ireland Women’s Under 19 squad will face Czech Republic in a double header this week as their final preparations for the European Championship Elite Phase commence.

After topping their group in the Qualifying Round - scoring 14 goals and conceding none in three wins - Dave Connell's Under 19 team will go into the Elite Round full of confidence.

They will also have home advantage as they prepare to host Finland, Scotland and Ukraine in April.

The impressive Qualifying Round performances were followed up in January with a 4-0 win over Portugal and a 0-0 draw against the Netherlands. This week’s games against the Czech Republic gives Dave Connell the chance to fine-tune his squad one final time before April’s games and he has named a squad of 18 to travel to Barcelona this week.

The strength of the Under 19 set up currently is evident by the elevation of Amanda McQuillan, Leanne Kiernan and Roma McLaughlin to the Women’s Senior Team for this week’s Cyprus Cup.

The games this week take place on Wednesday and Friday and we’ll have reports and highlights right here on

Republic of Ireland Women’s Under 19 Squad to face Czech Republic:

Nadine Maher (Oaklands University), Naoisha McAloon (Peamount United), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne FC), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Chloe Moloney                  (Galway WFC), Niamh Prior (Shelbourne FC), Jess Nolan (Galway WFC), Fiona Donnelly (Shelbourne FC), Alex Kavanagh (Shelbourne FC), Lucy McCartan (Peamount United), Sophie Watters         (Shelbourne FC), Evelyn Daly (Cork Womens FC), Lynn Craven (Shelbourne FC), Dearbhaile Beirne (UCD Waves), Tiegan Ruddy (Shelbourne FC), Saoirse Noonan (Cork Womens FC), Eleanor Ryan Doyle (UCD Waves), Heather Payne (Peamount United)


Wednesday, March 1, Czech Republic v Republic of Ireland, 16:00

Friday, March 3, Czech Republic v Republic of Ireland, 14:30