Connell names squad for Women's U19 Qualifying Round

Connell names squad for Women's U19 Qualifying Round

Republic of Ireland women’s under-19s Head Coach Dave Connell has named a 20-player squad ahead of this week’s UEFA Women’s Under-19 Championship Qualifying Round games.
30th Sep 2019

Connell has made four changes to the squad that played a double-header of friendly games against Austria earlier this month.
Eabha O’Mahony (Cork City), pictured, who made her senior team debut against the USA in August comes into the squad for the fixtures, as do Kayla Brady (Galway), Kayleigh Shine (Athlone Town) and Maria O’Sullivan (Cork City).

Ireland kick-off their Qualifying Round campaign on Wednesday, 2 October when they face Ukraine at 2pm Irish time, while they play Montenegro on Saturday, 5 October and hosts Netherlands on Tuesday, 8 October.

Connell said: “It’s an exciting squad that we’ve put together and I’m looking forward to working with them. Some new players have come in and I’m sure they will do well for us. We actually have two sisters in the squad, that’s a first for me. We already had Leah Brady in the squad and now her sister Kayla, who is doing really well with the Galway Under-17s, is coming in too.
“It’s an important period for the squad as we seek to qualify for the Elite Round of the tournament. We got through last year and did very well in the Elite Round, but were unfortunate to come up against an excellent Spanish side - they are one of the top teams in Europe. But we are looking forward to a good week ahead and a lot of hard work from the girls.”

Republic of Ireland Women’s Under-19 Squad
Goalkeepers: Rachael Kelly (Shelbourne), Maria O'Sullivan (Cork City).
Defenders: Zara Foley (Cork City), Roisin McGovern (DLR Waves), Leah Brady (Galway), Kelsey Munroe (Galway), Eabha O’Mahony (Cork City).
Midfielders: Nadine Clare (DLR Waves), Sinead Donovan (Galway), Niamh Reynolds (Reading), Rebecca Cooke (Shelbourne), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Mia Dodd (Shelbourne), Aoife Slattery (Wexford Youths), Kayla Brady (Galway), Kayleigh Shine (Athlone Town).
Forwards: Sophie Liston (Cork City), Izzy Atkinson (Shelbourne), Alannah McEvoy (Shelbourne), Emily Whelan (Shelbourne).

UEFA Women’s Under-19 Championship Qualifying Round Fixtures
2 October: Ukraine v Ireland, KO: 14:00 (Irish time), Sportpark Zegersloot, Alphen aan den Rijn
5 October: Ireland v Montenegro, KO: 12:00 (Irish time), Sportpark Juliana, 's-Gravenzande 
8 October: Ireland v The Netherlands, KO: 18:00 (Irish time), Sportpark Juliana, 's-Gravenzande