Byrne to be honoured at '3' FAI International Awards


Byrne to be honoured at '3' FAI International Awards

The 29th '3' FAI International Awards will make history by inducting its first female into the Hall of Fame with Emma Byrne, the record appearances holder for the Republic of Ireland women's senior team, set to be honoured.
11th Mar 2019

The Kildare native enjoyed an extraordinary career, where she won every trophy available during her time with Arsenal and also raised the profile of women's football by consistently producing top-class performances for Ireland.

Byrne ended up with 134 senior caps, from making her senior debut in 1996 through to her final game in 2017. During that period, she was also captain for four years and led by example on the pitch.

The Football Association of Ireland recently dedicated a tribute alcove to Byrne in their Headquarters on the National Sports Campus and this Hall of Fame award follows on from that in recognition of her fantastic career.

FAI Board Member & Chairperson of the Women's Football Committee, Niamh O'Donoghue said: "From the time that she first burst onto the underage international stage at age 14, Emma was a fantastic servant to the women's game, representing her country at every age level and winning multiple honours at club level.

"She was a tremendous role model for young girls around the country and I've no doubt that she inspired an entire generation of girls to follow their dreams of becoming a professional footballer. 

"The tribute alcove in FAI Headquarters is fantastic to see and anyone who visits the offices will be able to see just what she achieved. However, becoming the first women's player to be inducted into the Hall of Fame is historic and well deserved."

FAI CEO John Delaney said: "To pull on the Ireland jersey is a special thing, but to do it on 134 occasions is quite remarkable. Emma has earned her right to be described as an Irish legend.

"Emma was a fantastic goalkeeper and ambassador for the women's game. She deserves to have her name in the Hall of Fame, alongside some of the best players ever to represent Ireland."

Byrne will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame at the '3' FAI International Awards ceremony on Sunday, March 17 in RTE Studios. The programme will be broadcast live on RTE2.

The full list of nominees for the '3' FAI International Awards will be revealed later this week.

Hall of Fame Recipients
2017: Damien Duff
2016: Robbie Keane
2015: Tony Cascarino
2014: Andy Townsend
2013: Ronnie Whelan
2012: Kevin Sheedy
2011: Ray Houghton
2010: Frank Stapleton
2009: Ray Treacy
2008: Arthur Fitzsimons
2007: Paddy Mulligan
2006: Don Givens
2005: Mick Martin
2004: Gerry Daly
2002: Liam Tuohy
2001: Liam Brady
2000: Joe Haverty
1999: 1949 Ireland team v England
1998: Shay Brennan / Tony Dunne
1997: Kevin O’Flanagan