WNL Awards to be broadcast on eir Sport 1


WNL Awards to be broadcast on eir Sport 1

The final act of the 2020 Women's National League will see the outstanding players celebrated as part of a special Awards programme on eir Sport 1 on Sunday, December 20th at 21:25.
16th Dec 2020

Both the Player of the Season and Young Player of the Season will be unveiled, while the Top Goalscorer, Aine O'Gorman, and the holder of the Most Clean Sheets, Rachael Kelly, will also receive their awards.

As part of the programme, the Team of the Season will be revealed while the late Michael Hayes, who sadly passed away last September, will be honoured with a Services to the Women's National League award.

Presented by Shane Dawson and accompanied by Chloe Mustaki, the show will also feature an exclusive interview with Republic of Ireland WNT Manager Vera Pauw.

The nominees for the two main awards have been confirmed with two previous winners in Peamount United duo O'Gorman and Karen Duggan included alongside club-mate Eleanor Ryan-Doyle plus Cork City's Saoirse Noonan and Shelbourne captain Pearl Slattery.

For the Young Player award, there are nominees from five different clubs including Cork City's Eabha O'Mahony, Galway's Shauna Brennan, Shelbourne's Jessica Ziu, Treaty United's Aoife Horgan and Wexford Youths' Ellen Molloy.

The four different Barretstown / WNL Player of the Month winners are all nominated in Molloy, Noonan, Ziu and Duggan.

The nominees & winners were selected from a voting process that was open to all WNL players & managers, along with input from a select committee.

2020 Women's National League Awards
Sunday, December 20th
eir Sport 1

Player of the Season Nominees
Saoirse Noonan (Cork City)
Karen Duggan (Peamount United)
Aine O'Gorman (Peamount United)
Eleanor Ryan-Doyle (Peamount United)
Pearl Slattery (Shelbourne)

Young Player of the Season Nominees
Eabha O'Mahony (Cork City)
Shauna Brennan (Galway WFC)
Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne)
Aoife Horgan (Treaty United)
Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths)

Top Goalscorer
Aine O'Gorman (Peamount United)

Most Clean Sheets
Rachael Kelly (Shelbourne)

Services to the Women's National League
Michael Hayes