Wexford Youths retain Só Hotels FAI Women’s Cup


Wexford Youths retain Só Hotels FAI Women’s Cup

Wexford Youths are the 2019 Só Hotels FAI Women’s Cup Champions after a 3-2 victory over Peamount United in Aviva Stadium.
3rd Nov 2019

Tom Elmes’ side never trailed in an entertaining Cup Final, and took the lead in the third minute. Player of the Match Lauren Kelly scored her first of two goals, with a shot from outside the box. Peamount goalkeeper Niamh Reid-Burke was left flat-footed as the Youths took an early advantage.

Women’s National League winners Peamount equalised just after the half-hour mark. Former Republic of Ireland international Karen Duggan’s first-time effort flew into the top left corner, giving Ciamh Dollard no chance in the Wexford goal.

The sides were level for less than 90-seconds as Kelly’s effort from the edge of the box looped over Reid-Burke to give her a second goal in the Cup Final, as they took that lead into the break.

Peamount equalised for the second time, early into the second half. Eleanor Ryan-Doyle’s effort from outside the box looped over Dollard, but the goalkeeper tried in vain to keep it out.

Fittingly for the champions, it was Wexford captain Kylie Murphy scored the decisive goal. The midfielder got on the end of a pass from Rianna Jarrett to score just after the hour mark.

Despite chances for both sides in the final half-hour, it was Wexford Youths who retained the title.

Peamount United: Niamh Reid-Burke; Lauryn O’Callaghan (Niamh Barnes 68), Louise Corrigan, Claire Walsh, Dearbhaile Byrne; Aine O’Gorman (capt), Karen Duggan; Lucy McCartan (Naima Chemaou 55), Niam Farrelly, Megan Smyth-Lynch; Eleanor Ryan-Doyle

Wexford Youths: Ciamh Dollard; Lynn Craven, Nicola Sinnott, Lauren Dwyer, Orlaith Conlon; Aisling Frawley (Blessing Kingsley 86), Kylie Murphy (capt), Edel Kennedy, Ciara Rossiter (McKenna Davidson 61); Lauren Kelly, Rianna Jarrett

Referee: Sarah Dyas