Ulster University win CUFL Women's Premier Division

UU Women's CUFL Premier Division

Ulster University win CUFL Women's Premier Division

12th Mar 2020



Ulster University came from two down to claim their first ever Colleges and Universities Premier Division title after edging out the holders Maynooth University 3-2 in an exciting Final at Athlone Town Stadium.

Two goals from full back Naomi Dornan with Samantha Kelly grabbing the winner with 15 minutes remaining finally got them past Maynooth.

Maynooth had the better of the first half and looked to be heading in at the break two goals to the good until Ulster University pulled a goal back in stoppage time.

The northern side went on to have the better of the second half and Kelly's goal proved to be the winner.

Erica Browne struck with a neat finish from close in after Ulster University ‘keeper Caoimhe Callaghan had spilled Isibeal Atkinson’s free kick to give Maynooth the perfect start with the opener on seven minutes.

That lead was extended 20 minutes later when skipper Sarah McKevitt planted a magnificent free kick from over 40 yards  into the top corner of the Ulster net.

Alison McMaster did have the ball in the Maynooth net only to have the score ruled out for offside.

The northern side had a much brighter spell coming up to the break and McMaster looked dangerous again when she got past Gemma Berry but her finish was well wide.

While Samantha Kelly shot over from a good position after latching on to a Niamh Connolly cross.

Later a couple of last ditched interceptions by Emma Byrne and Caoimhe Walsh kept out Michelle McDaid.  

All the Ulster pressure finally paid off and they gave themselves hope in added time at the end of the half when full back Naomi Dornan was on hand to touch the ball home from a corner in a crowded Maynooth goal mouth.  

A serious leg injury forced Maynooth central defender Berry off early in the second half and they were hit again when Dornan grabbed the equaliser minutes later with a similar goal to her earlier effort.

This time she was on hand to put away a Emma McMaster free that dropped into the Maynooth goalmouth.

The Ulster University comeback was completed with 15 minutes remaining when Samantha Kelly ran on to Dornan's high ball over the top and with Emma Byrne in close attendance she managed to steer the ball past the advancing ‘keeper Lenehan.

Player of the Match: Samantha Kelly (Ulster University).

ULSTER UNIVERSITY: Caoimhe Callaghan; Teresa Burns, Rebecca Cargill, Aimee McNeill, Naomi Donan; Samantha Kelly, Emma McMaster; Michelle McDaid, Alison McMaster, Niamh Connolly; Morganne Beggs.

Subs: Lucy Carvil (for Connolly 90). Not used: Aston Hunter, Zoe McDowell.

MAYNOOTH UNIVERSITY: Sophie Lenehan; Emer Gillen, Gemma Berry, Caoimhe Walsh, Jennifer O’Neill; Sarah McKevitt, Lauren Kelly, Robyn Moore, Isibeal Atkinson; Erica Browne.

Subs: Lauren Keely (for Berry 60). Not used: Shauna Wall, Kayleigh Wilson, Shauna Rooney, Emma Munnelly, Meadbh Kennelly.

Referee: Des McEnery. Assistants: Ultan Beamont, Damien Jordan. Fourth Official: Declan Toland. 



A last minute goal from Alex Holder proved just enough to get South West College Enniskillen past the Maynooth University ‘C’ side and clinch the Colleges and Universities League Division Three title for a first ever success after just two seasons playing in this all island competition. 

The final at a wind swept Athlone Town Stadium turned out to be a very close affair and with the conditions the players had to contend with the game produced very few chances.

The game had remained scoreless going into the final minute and the prospects of extra time looked likely the Enniskillen side had one last chance to break the deadlock and Holder seized the opportunity in some style and he proved to be the side's hero.

Simon Warrington delivered a deep cross into the Maynooth box from the left where Cian Kavanagh managed to block the ball which was then headed clear to the edge of the box but it fell nicely for Holder.  

The South West College play maker who had impressed all through the game with his hard work and was subsequently awarded Man of the Match steadied himself and powered a right footed effort past the helpless Maynooth ‘keeper Hugh Murphy.

Maynooth did have a golden opportunity to get their heads in front early in the second half after Callum Worfield ran clear of the South West defence.

His run took him into the box and with only goalkeeper Ben Thompson to beat the Maynooth striker pulled his finish outside the post.

Man of the Match: Alex Holder (South West College).

MAYNOOTH UNIVERSITY ‘C’: Hugh Murphy; Mark Sheahan, Josh O’Toole, Lukas Maher, Dylan Pierce; Neill Mackin, Cian Kavanagh; Ross Banahan, Paul Costello, Lord Afrika; Callum Worfield.

Subs: Tom Fagan (for Sheahan 57), Tom Somers (for Afrika 68), Kristien Nyamutsaka (for Pierce 68). Not used: Adam Foy, Cian Herbert, Dylan Grace, Jonathan Rafter.

SOUTH WEST COLLEGE-ENNISKILLEN: Ben Thompson; Jack Scallon, Dean Corrigan, Gary Trotter, Cain Boles; Wayne Nicholl, Jordan Cadden; Alex Holder, Rory Keane, Alex Holder,  Sean Murray; Simon Warrington.

Subs: Craig Humes (for Murray 66), Justin McvBride (for Keane 90+2), Prince Khumalo (for Cadden 90+2). Not used: Nathan Copeland, Jordan McClure, Jamie Stewart, Dylan Wilson.

Referee: Willie Stokes. Assistants: Ultan Beamont, Donie Sweeney.