St. Joseph's crowned Youth Cup Champions


St. Joseph's crowned Youth Cup Champions

St. Joseph’s AFC goalkeeper Dylan Kane was the unlikely match-winner, as the Dublin club lifted the FAI Youth Cup with a 1-0 victory over College Corinthians at the Carlisle Grounds.
16th Apr 2023

It was the Cork side who had the better of the opening exchanges, with Conor O’Sullivan and Mathew Broderick both having shots blocked by St. Joseph’s defenders as the clock approached 10 minutes.

Joey’s improved as the half wore on, with full-back Aji Habeeb embarking on a run which resulted in Callum Byrne firing a shot over the bar. The deadlock was broken just after the half-hour mark, and the unorthodox nature of the goal drew gasps from those gathered at the Bray venue.

With the ball at his feet, Kane fired a long ball towards the opposing box, only to see it bounce over his opposite number Eoin O’Flynn and into the net. There was still time before the half-time break for Joey’s to go close with another unusual effort, when Brian O’Meara hit the Corinthians upright directly from a corner.

The second half began in similar fashion to the first, with Corinthians on the front-foot in their search for an equaliser. A Luke O’Donnell shot was saved by Kane, before St. Joseph's defender Scott Higgins had the ball in the net at the other end. However, his effort was ruled out for offside, and the score remained 1-0.

Eric Cunningham and Ben Heinen both attempted long-range efforts for Corinthians, but neither shot could find its way into the St. Joseph’s goal.

Later attempts from Harry Quilligan and O’Donnell would go the same way, before Alan Seruga and substitute Reese Kavanagh both missed chances to put the result out of sight for Joey’s.

An injury-time volley from Broderick would be the last real chance of the game for Corinthians, as St. Joseph’s held on to win their first FAI Youth Cup since 2001.

POTM: Dylan Kane (St. Joseph’s AFC)

St. Joseph’s AFC: Dylan Kane; Adam Deans, Aji Habeeb, Tadgh Kane, Scott Higgins, Josh Bishop, Brian O’Meara (Emmanuel Ogunsaikon 75), Kian De Sousa (Reese Kavanagh 45), Callum Byrne, Callum Curley, Alan Seruga. College Corinthians FC: Eoin O’Flynn; Daniel McCarthy (James O’Connor 71), Ben Heinen, David Healy, Jerry Murphy, Eric Cunningham, Harry Quilligan (Jamie O’Brien 83), Luke O’Donnell, Conor O’Sullivan, Mathew Broderick, Rian O’Riordan (Brian Sullivan-Connell 56).

Referee: Alan Franklin