St Clare's & Rice College triumph in Connacht

Winners St. Clare's CS, Manorhamilton.jpg

St Clare's & Rice College triumph in Connacht

The FAI Post Primary Schools Connacht Futsal Finals for First Year Boys & Girls took place in the IT Sligo.

21st Nov 2019

The scholars from Rice College, Westport (Boys) and St. Clare's Comprehensive School, Manorhamilton (Girls) will both carry the hopes of a Connacht victory into the National Finals ‪on Thursday, December 5 in the WIT Arena, Waterford.

There was great excitement in the air as the winners of Sligo, Mayo, Leitrim, Roscommon and Galway regions, descended upon the Sligo venue to compete for provincial honours.

In the boys section, there was a tightly contested battle among Summerhill College, Sligo, Coláiste Bhaile Chláir, Rice College, Westport, Glenamaddy Community School and St. Clare’s Comprehensive were all setting high expectations of one another to advance to the day’s final.

The Westport side were too strong for the opposition this afternoon and with four wins from four, took the top spot while runners up Coláiste Bhaile Cháir were awarded runners up spot for their endeavours 

In the girl’s section, there was no shortage of talent with Davitt College, Castlebar, St Clare’s Comprehensive School, Manorhamilton, Salerno Secondary School, Salthill, Ursuline College, Sligo and Glenamaddy Community School all in the hunt for silverware.

Another show stopping performance from the Leitrim side, saw the St. Clare’s crew win all four games with Ursuline College claiming runners up with three victories in the group. St. Clare’s victory created a piece of history today as they became the first school from Leitrim to win a Connacht Futsal title. 

All 10 teams who took part on the day represented their school with pride as Schools Futsal continues to grow and thrive across the province.



Provincial Finals:

Leinster Girls                      November 12                      National Basketball Arena, Tallaght
Leinster Boys                     November 13                      National Basketball Arena, Tallaght
Ulster                                   November 13                      AURA Leisure Centre, Letterkenny
Munster                              November 19                      Waterford IT Sports Arena
Connacht                             November 20                     IT Sligo 

National Final:                   December 5                        Waterford IT Sports Arena